1999 Powerbook G3 RAM question

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by brentandkelley, Feb 14, 2003.

  1. brentandkelley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Location:
    Afton, TN
    #1
    I have a 1999 Powerbook G3 333 mhz. It currently has 360 mbs of ram. I have heard that a computer can only use so much RAM so if you put in more than it is rated for it would just be a waste. I'm not sure if this is true or not. I was wondering if this is true and if it is how much can it acctually use. One guy on this board said I should put in 2 512mb SO-DIMMs and I was wondering if this would be too much or not. That would be great if I could. Also where is the cheapest place to get RAM? I would appreciate any help I could get. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Rajj macrumors 6502a

    Rajj

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    32° 44' N 117° 10' W
    #2
    512MB is the maximum amount of RAM you can put into your system!!!
    So to answer your question…., yes!!
    :p :p :D :cool:
     
  3. dcharris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
  4. brentandkelley thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Location:
    Afton, TN
    #4
    I checked and looked to see if it was a bronze and it is. Does that mean that the max RAM is 384 or 512?
     
  5. dcharris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    The next model G3 - the "Firewire" supports 512. The Bronze is limited to 384 - which would necessarily be configured as 256 + 128.

    If everything is working fine for you right now I wouldn't mess with it. I have a Bronze and it is tempermental about RAM changes - especially under OSX.
     
  6. aic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #6
    Ram upgrades

    I have the 400Mhz version and you can put 512mb in. Being 2*256, you have to pay a little extra for the smaller size. You can goto otherworldcomputing.com and order some today. It is well worth it.
     
  7. FlamDrag macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    #7
  8. FelixDerKater macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #8
    Out of curiosity, how did you end up with 360MB of RAM in that computer?
     
  9. big macrumors 65816

    big

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    #9
    I'm selling all my B&W G3 stuff (I have a G4 upgrade ZIF chip for it too) and a lot of ram.... if your interested...
     

Share This Page