1gb of ram vs. 2gb

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Hobodale, Jul 4, 2006.

  1. Hobodale macrumors member

    Hobodale

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    #1
    So I have had my Macbook for about 3 weeks now. I got a white 2ghz with 1gb of ram. I am thinking about upgrading 2gb of ram but I cant decide. Will I really notice a difference between 1gb and 2gb of ram or would I just be wasting my money?
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    You should tell people what you do with your MB before asking them to make this determination for you...
     
  3. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #3
    Are you getting a lot of pageouts rapidly?

    If so then RAM would be a good thing
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    More RAM is never wasted -- unless you do all your work in TextEdit... ;)
     
  5. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    I would definitly say go up to 2GB. Even with normal watching a couple videos, web browsing and messenger with a bit of photoshop, I'm always running out of RAM and I have 1GB right now.
     
  6. Pad18 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
  7. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    IMO, that's the absolute minimum for Tiger. Anything less is sinful.
    But in reality, there's a HUGE performance boost in just going from 512MB to 1GB of RAM. Much less so doubling again, unless one is doing (many) things that require a lot of RAM.
     
  8. shawsinio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    you need at least 1gig to run osx well IMO. I bought my macbook with 1gb of ram, would have bought it stock 512, and upgraded to 2gb for the same price if id done my research...

    anyway, i have 1.5gb of ram and it is defineately faster than when i ran it with 1 gig.

    if you would like a link to ram that is decent, and affordable, try this

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=353418

    thats a uk site though, nd i cant remem if ur from uk or not! ah well!
     
  9. Rare macrumors member

    Rare

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #9
    Well unless your opening those so popular 1GB+ text files :p lol
     
  10. manic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    #10
    I currently own a PC (to be replaced by a macbook in october when i visit the US) and i like to have plenty of browsers open at once and every so often firefox is gobbling up some 400mb of memory ( i only have 512 in my system, therefore i have to shut it to keep going, so it probably would go higher if i let it)

    Ill be getting 2GB. no doubt about it. but it wont be stock. I learned applecare is valid in my country, but im skeptical about paying over 200 for it. Can anyone convince me its worth it? I know if it breaks ill be glad I have it, but I never had trouble with computers before and I believe its not likely to break. In fact, I believe its far more likely to have it stolen - in that case, shelling for the applecare would only increase my loss
     
  11. farqueue macrumors 6502

    farqueue

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    #11
    i have itunes and limewire + safari + skype + 2 other browsers opened and i have already used 1.4gb
     
  12. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #12
    ^^Don't bother looking at those numbers because they're meaningless to you and easily misinterpreted.

    Go into APPLICATIONS>UTILITIES>TERMINAL, and type "top" (without the quotations). Then press the ENTER button. Tell us how many "Page-outs" there are.

    Then close that window and open up another TERMINAL window. Type "uptime." Post both of them here and we'll tell you if you need more RAM. ;)

    Agree with Yellow completely. Just listen to this man. Seriously. ;)
     
  13. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #13
    I had 512MB in my MacBook before I sent it back, and I got a replacement and just recieved (few mins ago) 2x1GB (ie 2GB) RAM for the replacement from Orca Logic (along with my 1GB USB Flash Drive, and MacBook sleeve-its so soft!), but I dont have the actual laptop :mad:! Anyway with 512 it was fast, but the Dashboard animation thingy (when dropping widgets) would take a few seconds to "load", and the graphics preformance was generally choppy at best. I cant wait to see how fast the beast is with 2GB RAM, its quadruple the ammount I have in my desktop and freinds Mini G4, double my other friends gaming laptop, and the same as my OTHER friends gaming laptop. I feel all warm and fuzzy inside :D .
     
  14. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #14
    I would definitely reccomend the upgrade to more RAM Hobodale.
    As CanadaRAM, more RAM is never wasted.


    Personally, when I went from 1GB -> 2GB in my Power Mac G5 I noticed an increase in performance. I would expect similar results for you. :)
     
  15. michaeldmartin macrumors regular

    michaeldmartin

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Testicles. That is all.
  16. DJMastaWes macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #16
    This might sound like a stupid question, but how do you know how much ram you have left?

    Someone in here said "I'm always running out of ram". I have 512 MB, how do I find out how much is left... If that's possible. Thanks.
     
  17. MIDI_EVIL macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Open Activity Monitor, found in Applications > Utilities

    Then click the System Memory tab.

    You should have a pie chart displayed, the green is how much Free RAM you have.

    Rich.
     
  18. DJMastaWes macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
  19. thechris69 macrumors 6502

    thechris69

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
  20. regre7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #20
    I suppose I'm lucky. The first time I booted my MacBook Pro it was running 2GB, so I can't comment on the performance difference. Don't misinterpret this as "I'm retarded [insert Carlos Mencia noise here] and bought 2GB of RAM from Apple." It's that G.SKILL RAM from NewEgg that's cheap and only had good reviews when I last looked (which was a while ago).
     
  21. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #21
    I have 1 GB on my macbook, and it's quite enough. I rarely get any pageouts, and even then, only a few. I have to have about 8 apps open to see any at all.

    But if you can afford it, why not? ;)
     
  22. Hobodale thread starter macrumors member

    Hobodale

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    #22
    So I decided to go for it and I purchased 2x1gb sticks from newegg.com it should be here in a couple days. thanks for all your advice.
     
  23. WillMak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #23
    sweet! Who's Ram did u end up buying?
     
  24. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #24

    Good choice Hobodale- you will enjoy the boost in performance associated with having 2GB of RAM in your system. :)
     
  25. WillMak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #25
    I just tried to tax out my 2GB...ran iTunes, Firefox, garageband, iphoto, Adium, Azureus, iMovie, Alarm Clock, Dashboard, Excel, Word, Powerpoint, Entourage, Photobooth, Google Earth, and iCal - Everything still performed great! :eek:
     

Share This Page