1gb VRAM hd4000

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by ee13lbp, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    #1
    I've seen lots of VRAM discussions for the 2012 Mac mini, but I still don't get what extra VRAM is useful for.

    If I was to add 16gb ram into my Mac mini, I should max out on VRAM at little over a gig... at least I would on windows. So how does this help me? YouTube videos suggest that the hd4000 would then be able to play battlefield 3 comfortably... but I'm sceptical since the mini uses the laptop cpu anyhow.

    So what would it actually help with?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #2
    The VRAM will top out at 768MB with a Mini. Windows allows for more VRAM when you increase the RAM.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    #3
    Yeah, but even if I did that in windows what could I use it for?
     
  4. macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #4
    You would be amazed at that results you would get just by typing VRAM into Google and searching. In fact the very first result that was returned was the Wikipedia article on VRAM. You would have even already had an answer to your question instead of waiting several hours.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    #5
    If you weren't trying to be such a smart ass maybe you would realize I was asking about VRAM in context of the 2012 Mac mini. Maybe if you try searching for something like "hd4000 vram" you'd see all that you get is tons and tons of discussions on how high it can go, not what it actually can do- and especially in terms of the new mini.

    I'm no tech guru, can someone just explain to me if the added VRAM in the mini will improve gaming performance, display output etc?
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #6
    VRAM is kind of irrelevant for embedded GPU's. The GPU talks over the same bus with the VRAM as the CPU does with RAM, so it can toss out data between the CPU managed "RAM block" very fast to the "VRAM area" (both in the same RAM chips), way faster than any computer can fill VRAM on a PCI GPU card. It is nothing more than changing some pointer variables.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    You actually said that you didn't know what extra VRAM was useful for and still didn't do as as suggested.


    That prevents you from doing basic research?
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #8
    I've never read anything that indicates that the nominal increase in available VRAM makes a perceptible difference when using a Mac, if that is what you are wondering. But I'm sure that the larger number is comforting to those people who tend to obsess over this kind of thing.

    A previous respondent seems to be saying that "shared" VRAM is faster than VRAM on a discrete GPU but I cannot imagine that it makes the slightest bit of difference in performance. At any rate, as far as I can tell discrete GPUs always beat integrated GPUs performance-wise if they are the same vintage.
     
  9. macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #9
    not frame rate as much as the fillers and extras in a game the textures.


    http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2285345


    this post is close to your answer.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    Vram is memory which is only used by your GPU in your case intel HD 4000 on the mac mini 2012. its very unlikely that the vram well increase when you add more ram might do so don't quote me on that but in my opinion it wont. vram helps with FPS and video stuttering on the displays so the bigger display the more vram you need. iv never liked integrated GPUs but the intel HD 4000 graphics is one of the best integrated GPU's iv used so far. Iv playing skyrim in medium settings on 1920x180 on my 32" samsung TV very smooth and comfortable gaming experience. note the mac mini 2012 is not a pocket rocket gaming machine but if your a casual gamer and want something as good as a xbox or ps3 id say the mac mini isn't a bad choice

    here is a youtube link to a guy how has been testing games on his new base model i5 2012 Mac mini and there some surprizing results and i hope this info helps
    http://www.youtube.com/user/ThisisRends
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    #11
    Thanks for this :) Have you tried any other games?
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #12
    If you have 4Gb of RAM, the HD4000 will take 384 Mb for VRAM.
    If you have 8Gb of RAM, the HD4000 will take 512 Mb for VRAM.
    If you have 16Gb of RAM, the HD4000 will take 768 Mb for VRAM.

    What effect this will have: not entirely sure. Probably not faster, but smoother and a bit more capable with lots of objects.

    I agree that the 4000 is not a bad card at all. It may not be the fastest on the market, but it's certainly good enough for most uses. I drive two monitors and play some OpenGL games with no problems at all.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    #13

    What are your readings for fan rpm and cpu temperature when playing OpenGL?
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #14
    I haven't the foggiest idea!

    People only start worrying about Fan rates and CPU temps when they install apps that tell them about fan rates and CPU temps! :p
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    turtlez

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #15
    hahaha so true!
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Location:
    Ireland
    #16
    thats quite surprising apple usually find a ways of stopping you upgrading such thinks cause it money of there pockets so Id say if the HD 4000 GPU had the 16Gb of ram it would match maybe the Nvidea Geforce 9600GTm used in the 15" 2008 MBP which may not sound good but that card was a beast with a little bit of overclocking but Iv a suspicion that windows would detect the GPU upgrade but MAC OSX will not if you could verify that that would be great thanks
     

Share This Page