1st gen iPod won't synch to newer versions of iTunes?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by jwhitwell, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #1
    Anyone else having this trouble?

    I should mention that I'm doing this on WinXP (sorry). All was working fine, but in one of the most recent iTunes updates, synch stopped working. My firewire is fine; the iPod still charges using it, but it does not synch when plugged in at all.

    Suggestions? Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    #2
    Does the iPod show up in iTunes when it is launched?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #3
    No, sir - neither the iPod nor iTunes seem to realize that the iPod is plugged in (other than the iPod getting power via the firewire).

    This was all working perfectly just a few months ago, then I didn't plug the iPod in for awhile (it was in the car with a lighter adapter for power), but I accepted a couple of updates of iTunes in the interim, so it has me thinking that one of those updates resulted in this situation, but I don't know that for sure.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    #4
    Maybe try restarting the iPod itself and then try to connect it to your computer again.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #5
    Sorry for the dumb question, but how is that done exactly? :) I suspect it's a hold-down-this-combination-of-buttons, but I'm not familiar with it. Thanks!
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    #6
    I think that you toggle the hold switch on the top of the iPod a few times and then hold down the menu and center buttons at the same time until it restarts.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #7
    Thanks; will try that when I get home and get it plugged in/recharged!
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #8
    Ok, tried resetting the iPod, no luck. Uninstalled iTunes, downloaded older version (6) and installed, and still no connectivity.

    Ugh.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    #9
    I would always recomend having the latest version of iTunes. What I would do now is call Apple and ask them what to do. Also keep in mind that you have a "very" old iPod so it might just be it's time to go. :eek:
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #10
    Hehe, could very well be.

    I went with an older version first, because a) it had worked under previous versions, and b) somewhere on here I saw someone say something about newer versions not supporting firewire (though never saw a definitive statement confirming that).

    Thanks again for your posts and assistance. :)
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    #11
    The newer iPods do not support firewire, the software has always supported it.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #12
    Understood; this 'failure' on the part of my iPod occured at a time when an update to iTunes also occured, so it seemed that the iTunes update was causitive at some point, but nothing seems to make it work now. :)
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #13
    Let me give you my story. . .

    I recently update as well, and I don't know when problems started occurring, but I was using the iPod and it was perfectly fine that entire night, until the morning I plugged it into my Mac . . .

    and it came up on the desktop, said it was connected, but refused to show up on iTunes.

    After I ejected it, and tried playing the songs from the Ipod. . . it just wouldn't play... none of my songs would play, and the album art was not moving it just stayed stuck on one picture. . .

    So, I eventually plugged it into my PC, and my PC downloaded an update software to my iPod which I guess it needed. . . and it started working again.

    With problems however on the Mac, to the eventual point where my MAC! erased all my songs, and now it copys songs is extremely slow, after restoring it several times.

    But. . . if you have another laptop or computer around, mainly PC, try using it in that and see what happens.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    millar876

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland UK
    #14
    first gen iPods Did not support windows out of the box, at the time the iPod was a mac only thing. the 2nd Gen supported windows (via mac and PC versions of the iPod sold at retail). main difference is 1st gen the click wheel turned, 2nd gen it was a solid state wheel (kindof like the current one but looked like the 1G) I Think the 1st Gen iPod was only 5GB aswell and the 2nd gen added bigger sizes to go along with Windows XP Support.

    I think the 1G could be updated to later (2ng gen) firmware to enable windows computability, BUT the only way to do that is to update it on a Mac, as Windows WILL NOT recognize the mac File System on the 1G (default)
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #15
    Yep, I bought this from a buddy who is/was a Mac guy, and it was formatted for Mac at the time, but (and I don't specifically remember the process) we reformatted it for use with Windows, and have been using it for a few years (4-5, maybe) as such with Windows only.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #16
    ... and thanks, jmacatac, I'll try that, if I can find another PC about with a firewire port in it, hehe.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Location:
    in the southeast
    #17
    this happened to me before (2 yrs ago) with my old iPod w/ photo; Windows formatted and had just installed iTunes update. got an error reading after plugging iPod; couldn;t sync it. was told that the iPod was corrupted. Good thing it worked fine with my Mac but I had to reformat the iPod and upload everything again. :(
     
  18. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #18
    Yep, going to try that next/last before giving up. I suppose instructions on how to do that are here somewhere. :)
     
  19. macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #19
    Then how did I buy a 5gb iPod from CompUSA that had the jog wheel and worked out-of-the-box with Music Match Jukebox?

    The Firewire ports have a nasty habit of failing after a while. If you're technologicalyl savvy, you might want to open up your iPod and re-solder the port onto the motherboard, as that may fix your problem.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #20
    Same Here

    I just traded with a buddy at work and formatted his iPod so i could put my own music on it. I also have Windows XP and have syncd other newer iPods, just no this one.:mad: If anyone could help us both, that would be awesome.;)
     

Share This Page