1st time buyer...UK or US?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by wodwo, Nov 14, 2003.

1. wodwo Guest

Hi all,
    I'm new to both forums and macs so forgvie the ignorance if it becomes blazingly apparent!!;)
    I'm currently studying in the UK. I'm a first time computer buyer, though we've had a family pc and all that, and I've used computers in college, including macs. Have fallen in love with em:D .
    I'm looking for a portable system that would accomodate both college (teaching training:wp, presentations, etc etc) and my own interests, (multimedia, photo, music, video etc)
    My questions are:
    1. I'm undecided between powerbook/ibook...an old perennial from the look of some of the other threads. In terms of pure practicality and multitasking which would be the best bet? How long will these probs with the 15" display last?ie if i buy now will there be a problem?
    2.I've a relation in the US. Things seem to be a lot cheaper over there. Would there be any problems buying powerbook/ibook and bringing it back?
    3. Finally, burning dvds...I don't have a clue. With the superdrive can you actually burn commercial dvds ie movies etc or is it just your own home movies etc. Is it fast/ slow? Would you be better waiting about til the technology got better and upgrading?I don't have a notion basically, but like the sound of the idea;)

Hope ye can help!!:)

2. Felix_the_Mac macrumors member

Hi. I'm in the UK too and have just bought my first Mac (15" PB 1.25).

1. Maybe you would be better to buy an iBook 1st and see how you get on since they are cheaper. Then if you find that you love Apple you could get a Powerbook later .... maybe when they introduce a G5 model (maybe 12months maybe longer).

2. The 15" Powerbook (with superdrive, airport, backlit keyboard etc) is a fantastic machine. But you must be aware that compared to PC's Macs are relatively slow.