2.0 v 2.16

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jniedt, Aug 2, 2006.

1. jniedt macrumors newbie

Aug 2, 2006
    Hey, I'm new to the game, looking to convert from PC and join the horde.

As I am a PC-eathen, I do not follow Mac trends as closely as other things. I know the basic lineup of the 15 2.0, 15 2.16, 17 2.16. I'm pretty set on either the 2.0+1GB or 2.16 straight. What I'm concerned about is whether the extra +.16 and +128 MB of graphics is worth 500 bucks. I'm going to be doing pretty heavy graphic design stuff, but no gaming. Just curious what everyone's opinion what difference it would make with current cs2(or if anyone has any inside info on cs3's req's i'm all ears. :) ). I'm leaning toward biting the bullet as I want something that will last in some capacity beyond my graduation from art school(and subsequent poverty :) ).

2. Chundles macrumors G4

Jul 4, 2005
    I very much doubt that extra money would be best spent on the faster model. The extra VRAM and GHz isn't going to make much of a difference.

Because you say you're going to be running Graphic Design programs you'd be best off to spend the extra amount on taking your RAM up to 2GB to help offset the slowdown in CS2 due to it having to be emulated.

Buy the 2.0GHz model, give it 2GB of RAM and use the left-over cash on an external hard drive and some cool accessories.

CS3 would most likely fly on the Core Duo system when it arrives. Remember, the MBP is likely to move over to Core 2 Duo very soon giving a ~20% boost in performance at the same power consumption. Might be a thing to consider.
  3. Shadow macrumors 68000

Feb 17, 2006
    Keele, United Kingdom