2-3g iPads with 1 ATT subscription?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Salmar, Apr 26, 2010.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    If I bought two 3g iPads and and got the unlimited data plan from ATT, would I have to pay two monthly charges if they are being used in one household with one ATT account? I don't have WiFi at home. Believe it or not I called Apple and they didn't know the answer either and said to ask ATT about it which I haven't done yet, but I thought I would ask here first.
    Thanks for a reply
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    Of course you would have to pay $30/month each unless you want to swap microSIM cards.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #3
    Each iPad would require it's own data plan since the sim cards would have different phone/account numbers associated with it. It would be the same as if you had the iPhone and iPad, each has it's own data plan.

    You might want to consider geting a MiFi card from Verizon or the Overdrive from Sprint and then getting 2 WiFi iPads. Although the data plans on the Overdrive and MiFi would be the same as if you had two data plans on the 2 3G iPads, but with the MiFi and Overdrive cards you could connect up to 5 devices.
     
  4. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    #4
    Um, they should know. It's been posted on their site, I could have sworn. It's not like the iPhone where you have a real account with AT&T. You put your payment info into EACH iPad as you want to use bandwidth so, therefore, there is no way to 'share' an account.

    Well, there is. Buy two WiFi ones, and use a 3G-WiFi phone as the access point. But, from the 3G iPad(s) themselves? Nope.

    Unless someone has changed the whole payment paradigm in the last few weeks...
     
  5. macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #5
    1) As the 3G isn't yet released...AT&T hasn't said
    2) iPad question = Apple...data service plan = At&T
    3) As you can't share data plans on iPhone, I'll wager EACH device must have its own data plan.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #6
    Yes, you pay $30 per iPad.

    It's the same as for iPhones. Each physical phone requires its own $30 data plan, regardless of whether it is in a family plan, who bought it, etc.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    stisdal

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Ditto on above. I have 3 iPhones on a family plan. I bought them all, and they are all on my account. That's $90. a month in data......:eek:
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    zub3qin

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #8
    I think the question is more like WOULD one microSIM swapped between the 2 iPads work or would AT&T disable this somehow. I sense that they won't be that smart to disable this.

    If this works, that means, of course, that a new iPhone 4 microSIM could potentially work in the iPad as well.

    I am not that concerned, actually, since I am running my iPad on 3G for over 3 weeks. (Thanks to the app MyWi and my jailbroken iPhone!)
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #9
    This is the real question I'm wondering about. I'd tend to think they would discourage this because they wouldn't want you opening and closing the sim door a million times and then complaining to apple that its worn out, or complaining to AT&T that you've lost your sim or that it's broken.....

    I have a feeling that this won't be possible as someone has obviously thought about this and had such discussions. I would love to be able to do this though. We'll see soon I guess...
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    Well thanks for all the replies. I just thought I would ask and was hoping for different results. :D I wonder if they would have a family plan for two iPads without charging 30 bucks for each one. Will just have to wait and see then.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    noah82

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #11
    There will not be an iPad family plan, so don't bother waiting for one.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    nj-mac-user

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    Guess we will know the answer for sure in a few days. I would think that if you can swap sims between two at&t go phones that it would also work with two ipads. I've never tried with go phones so I have no idea if that's even possible.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #13
    The data plans with the 3G iPad are prepaid. You can not combine or add data plans to your existing prepaid AT&T account. There is no family plan. You either pay $14.99 or $30 a month for data per iPad. iPads have nothing to do with your existing att account.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #14
    Anyone have an answer to the original question

    I work at a Canadian office and we frequently travel to the states. The company purchased one AT&T SIM for an iPad. We are wondering if when other users travel to the US can we just transfer the SIM to the other iPad so that they can use it while travelling?
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #15
    I believe you can do that. I haven't done it with AT&T SIMs, but when I was traveling in Norway, I handed my local SIM off to a relative who used it in her iPad after I left the country. I don't think the SIM gets tied to the iPad device ID.
     
  16. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #16
    Why didn't you go to Verizon and get two WiFi iPads and a $130 MyFi device? I'm assuming you weren't planning on using 3G on both at once, which is what that would be perfect for.
     

Share This Page