2 Emacs

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by Vlade, Nov 20, 2003.

  1. Vlade macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #1
    I just installed mc68ks scripts on 2 1GHZ emacs at my school, but they have them set to sleep every 10 mins of inactivity or so. The admin has disabled the energy saver preferences, so how do i change this? I want to make it just turn the monitor off instead of sleeping, but I don't have sufficient privileges. I know the password for the current user, but not for the admin. Any suggestions, these machines will add at least 125 points a week or so if I can get them to fold all of the school day
     
  2. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #2
    it is a .plist file

    are they running 10.2 or .3?
     
  3. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #3
    I worked as an IT aid over the summer at the high school I had graduated from, and installed a lab of 24 new 1Ghz eMacs. I was going to set up folding on them, but I had extreme difficulty and was unable to get it to work because I wanted it to work in the student user, but the admin system was based over the local network or something, and so even when I knew the admin password I was unable to get the script to function properly. Good luck though!
     
  4. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #4
    wow, will u ever have access to those again?

    what a lot of power...man
     
  5. Vlade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #5
    Can you be more specific, I have a general idea of what that is, but I don't know where the plist file is. Also they are 10.2
     
  6. yamabushi macrumors 65816

    yamabushi

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    #6
    You probably should ask permission from the admin to add it. I know of several people who have gotten into some serious trouble over some very innocent hacking of school computers.
     
  7. Vlade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #7
    Yamabushi, i don't need to worry much about the 2 emacs (folding is 100% hidden to them, they don't know anything about macs except we have 2 for imovie), now if i installed something on the windows machines thats another story.
     
  8. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #8
    *Ponders installing the folding scripts on the video editing terminals on campus, but then remembers that they are still using OS 9*

    DAMMMIT!!!
     
  9. nw_mike macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Northwest, USA
    #9
    Sort of hidden

    Yamabushi, i don't need to worry much about the 2 emacs (folding is 100% hidden to them...

    Kind-of. If someone complains about problems on the Mac 'like it's slow' all they would need to do is run the activity viewer/process viewer to see it running. Yes I know it only uses idle process time, but they could still check even though it would be unrelated.
     
  10. simX macrumors 6502a

    simX

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #10
    Then put SETI@home on them instead.
     
  11. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #11
    Re: Sort of hidden

    i dont feel sorry for admins who don't have a clue about computers
     
  12. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #12
    okay here are the 2 plist locations relating to energy svr/pwr mngmt in 10.2:

    /Library/Preferences/com.apple.PowerManagement.plist

    and/or

    /private/var/db/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.PowerManagement.xml

    basically configure the energy saver like u would want it to be on some machine u control, and capture the file.

    to test try some different settings and then copy over the file to see if it changes the settings u just changed.
     
  13. Vlade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
  14. Vlade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #14
    ACK!!! It seams the first file doesn't actually do anything, and I can modify it, and the second one does, BUT it is owned by root, so I can't modify it or overwrite it! Is there anyway around this, or is Mac OS X just to damn good?
     
  15. nw_mike macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Northwest, USA
    #15
    No Authentication = No Go

    If you can't authenticate as an admin then you cannot change it. My experience has found that those files owned by root had to be thrown away (you couldn't simply over-right them). But once again if you do not have permission I don't know how you would do it.
     
  16. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #16
    you can modify the root owned file in single user mode.

    if they have OF locked, then this hack also works

    i will continue to work on a non-admin solution. if u need more details on taking over a computer and modifying that file from a root console then let me know.

    edit: if u know the admin accts name then u can change the passwd. u could also change root's passwd or create one if they haven't
     
  17. Vlade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #17
    Uhg, after spending all period today on the emac, I STILL can't figure this out, and the folding progress was at about 12%, so the emac probably only gets touched once or twice a day... Basically everything I tried required the admin password... :(
     
  18. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #18
    is there any way for you to get into single-user mode?

    cmd-s at startup

    it looks a little suspicious, so tell me if ur up for it :D
     
  19. Vlade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #19
    Worth a try, I will go down there tomorrow again and check it out
     
  20. Vlade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #20
    I will write a passive program some time to move the mouse every 10 mins by 1 pixel :). I am really busy now with developing 2 games, so I don't know if I can spare much programming time, so the emacs may need to wait a bit.
     
  21. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #21
    Its weird... I used the Script and the 2 Mac Os X's at my school and I put in the name and all the stuff but for like the 15 minutes I was there all it was doing was trying to connect to the servers.
    Connecting to Primary Server
    Failed
    Connecting to Secondary Server
    Failed

    And it would loop like that... could they somehow block that?

    Folding port? The connection...
    I mean they have Bess... but umm how

    :mad:

    I guess I'll try and see if anything was to be done monday... ech.
     
  22. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #23
    see how rc5 does on them

    ur not going to get in anymore trouble with ur school, right?
     
  23. Vlade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #25
    I found a program called jiggler, I will install it today, expect a bunch more points from me :)
     

Share This Page