2 external monitors with macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by cayley, Apr 3, 2007.

  1. cayley macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    #1
    What I'd like to do is have: Monitor - Macbook - Monitor

    I found about the DualHead2Go through these forums. But they require the two external monitors to be next to each other to get continuity. Are there any other solutions where I can break them apart? Thanks
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Is it a MB or an MBP, with an MBP it's probably possible.
     
  3. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #3
    i never even knew about dualhead2go. either way, even if you could span two external displays with the built-in one, i wouldn't recommend it. when i span my macbook with an external 20" display, it feels sluggish, and i can only imagine how much slower three displays would feel.
     
  4. cayley thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    #4
    Unfortunately, the MBP is a bit out of my budget, so I'll be getting the MB.
     
  5. cayley thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    #5
    As far as using the DualHead2Go, the Macbook will just think of it as a single display, so it shouldn't be any more sluggish than with 1 display.

    Unfortunately, I just found out it's impractical. The macbook specs specify it can do 1920x1200 on an external display. I'd want to do 2 1280x1024 displays , so it'd be 2560x1024... Oh well, just 1 it is :)
     
  6. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #6
    It is limited to 2 x 1024 x 768 for the MacBook. So unless you have two old 15" monitors lying around that do nothing useful, it is quite pointless. With a MacBook Pro, they claim you can run 2 x 1920 x 1200 (with the lid closed)
     
  7. cayley thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    #7
    Yikes, even worse than I expected. Oh well, I really didn't need all that real estate anyway. It would've been damn cool tho :D
     
  8. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #8
    So putting the MacBook aside, what is the best way to do this with a MacBook Pro? Would using the DualHead2Go still be the best practice?
     

Share This Page