2 GB RAM on an emac?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by daggett2, Sep 17, 2005.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #1
    i'm considering buying a new emac and a certain reputable apple reseller tells me it can support 2GB RAM. this is nice since my only issue with the machine is the listed 1GB RAM limitation. thing is, i can't find anyone else who will come out and say that 2GB is ok. this particular reseller says the listed 1GB RAM is a conservative spec and this is a safe thing to do. can anyone offer any insight?
    thx in advance
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #2
    From the apple website, it says the eMac can only support up to 1GB or RAM. Maybe it is possible to put more in, but that is what apple says.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #3
    I believe the retailer is...

    Correct.

    The eMac (2005) has two dimm slots both capable of supporting a 1gb chip.

    Good luck!


     
  4. macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    This is great! As I am buying an eMac very, very soon!

    Awesome.
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #5
    With the money you would spend on 2GB of RAM, you could probably get a low-end iMac.....

    2GB is unnecessary for most people.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Location:
    Spring, Texas
    #6
    go for the iMac G5 instead of the emac.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #7
    The iMac would make a much better choice.

    And if you can afford it, go for the 20" model, i know its expensive but its worth it.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #8
    I fully agree

    and they lowered the price on the Refurb site yesterday... ($49 across most models).


     
  9. macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #9
    It was confirmed by reader reports on xlr8yourmac.com that 167MHz f.s.b. eMacs can take up to 2GB of RAM.

    You can never have "enough" money, hard drive space or RAM, so congratulations-in-advance for maxing out the eMac. 2GB is a good amount for OS X and it'll make your eMac experience great.
     

Share This Page