2 hour old iMac died!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by APPLEFAN8, Dec 28, 2008.

  1. macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Towson MD/South Jersey
    #1
    Well I was upgrading the software on the computer that my parents just got and then out of no where the power went out on it! So I held the power button and this blue screen came up saying all these codes and saying to restart it so after 3 times. I packed it back up and my dad and I are going back to best buy tomorrow and exchanging it! This sucks!
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #2
    The power went off to it. Files can be corrupted. Did you at least try to restore it with your disc?

    Also did you have it hooked up to a surge protector or UPS?

    This doesn't sound like it is Apple's or Best Buy's fault.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #3
    Don't go in angry at BB, it's not their fault your power went out...

    What Passive 101 said as well, try using the restore discs...
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Towson MD/South Jersey
    #4
    yeah its hooked up to a surge protector. How can I use the restore disks if it is at the apple start up screen and then tells me to restart it?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Towson MD/South Jersey
    #5
    oh I know that i'm just saying were probably going to try and return it and exchange it for one.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #6
    Force it to boot from the disc by holding down c.
     
  7. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #7
    Boot from the first disk.

    Insert the disk and restart whilst holding 'c' down.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #8
    Put in the disk that came with it. Reboot with 'C' pressed.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Towson MD/South Jersey
    #9
    I guess C you mean command?
     
  10. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    No, the letter.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Towson MD/South Jersey
    #11
    ok i'll try it and let you guys know what happens in like 2 mins.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Towson MD/South Jersey
    #12
    It just has the spinny circle and it keeps going under the apple logo.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Towson MD/South Jersey
    #13
    Guys it worked! Thanks! Right now its reloading OS X onto the computer. Hopefully it wont shut off randomly like it did! I was like crap when it happened. I'll let you know the progress of what happens next. Thanks for telling me because I never would have thought of it lol.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Towson MD/South Jersey
    #14
    It says 3 hours to go great! lol
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Towson MD/South Jersey
    #15
    Did it again!

    It just did it again! I'm taking it out of the surge protector because it seems to shut off like 20 mins after turning on the iMac and then just plug it into the outlet instead
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #16
    Maybe you need a new surge protector.
    Hope the reinstall goes well.
    BTW why were you upgrading SW on a new iMac i the 1st place?
     
  17. macrumors regular

    fohawk17

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #17
    that sounds like a surge protector issue. if the outlet doesnt work, get one of those battery backup ones. that way if the thing switches to battery power you know its the outlet
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #18
    It was probably a month old, from loading the OS to it being fired up the first time. 10.5.6 probably wasn't even loaded on it. Not all that uncommon on Apple's update cycle.
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Nero Wolfe

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #19
    Probably because, like the MacBook I just bought, it came with 10.5.5.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Towson MD/South Jersey
    #20
    Yeah I think it is because it is kind of old but the dell we had it hooked up to never did it. But me and my dad are going back tomorrow to best buy, exchanging it and also getting a new surge protector for the iMac. Hopefully everything goes well.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Towson MD/South Jersey
    #21
    I had to restore it since I had the blue screen with some kernal words at the bottom. We'll be going back tomorrow and getting another 20 inch plus it was an open box item but was never used.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Towson MD/South Jersey
    #22
    you don't think Best Buy will give us a problem with giving it back saying it randomly shut off and the blue screen came on. Hopefully we'll exchange it plus it is in the 14 day exchange for the computer.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    czachorski

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #23

    I think you should have absolutely no problem exchanging a DOA machine. Read up on their return policy. But I would expect that if you go in and are polite and friendly (its not the return guys fault that you got a dud), that you will have absolutely no problem. I would expect to go in, explain the circumstances, and have them take it back and hand you a brand new one.

    Good luck!
     
  24. thread starter macrumors 65816

    APPLEFAN8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Towson MD/South Jersey
    #24
    Yeah thanks for the link we got it December 21st but returning it tomorrow. We got 150 off since it was an open item. So maybe they'll give us a new one! Plus were getting a new surge protector.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    petermcphee

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #25
    This sounds similar to the problem that I had with a refurbished 24" iMac. Basically, it would just shut off as though someone had jerked the cord out of the wall. I understand that this is a semi-common issue. The Best Buy folks may even be aware of it, although that is optimistic. Good luck!
     

Share This Page