2 or 3 HDDs

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Me1000, Sep 16, 2006.

  1. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #1
    Ok so i have a Powermac G3 B&W in the mail...

    I want to move my old HDDs to the new one.

    I have 2 40 GB HDDs and a 60 GB HDD id like to use.

    is it posibloe to install all 3 HDDs and treat them as one?
    I had 2 set up in my old b&w but when i wanted to access it i had to do them separately.
    I want to be able to treat them all as one big HDD... If its possible

    can someone please help me?


    Thanks,
    ME1000
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    I don't remember if you can have 3 HD's in the B/W's. I have one back at home with at 2 drives in it. As for making them behave as one drive you'll need to reformat the drives and setup RAID 0 configurations. This will give you one very large partition. I have never done this so I don't know exactly the steps for doing it, but I figure it is not too tough.
     
  3. Me1000 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #3
    ok thank you...

    I think i had 3 HDDs in it once, i know there is a spot for a 3rd one, and i think the rev2 may of had a 4th spot... but dont hold me to that, im just going on memory.

    Can i set up the RAID if they are 2 different sizes? (40 GB and 60 GB)
     
  4. Apple2Mac macrumors regular

    Apple2Mac

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #4
    You can definatly do a Strip between the two 40's making one 80

    You may beable to do what is called a Span, I'm not sure if Disk Utility supports it. A span just makes mutiple drives appear as one....

    take a look at this thread on RAID
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=233992
     
  5. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #5
    Yes, you can fit up to 4 HDD's in the bottom of the B&W's. But to see them as 1 drive, you will need to use a Raid, preferably a hardware set-up using a pci controller card.

    do a google on mac raid, and be aware that in some configurations, using disks of different sizes results in loss of some space, namely the difference between the largest & smallest disk in the set.
     

Share This Page