2 superdrives ? How does eject work ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MRU, Sep 27, 2006.

  1. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    So I'm just configing my mac pro and was wondering should i go for the two superdrive option ?

    But then it occured to me. How does it know which drive to eject when you press the eject key ? :confused:
     
  2. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #2
    I guess you'd have to select the drive on the desktop.
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    I cant confirm but i think it is sometihng like shift eject to eject the bottom and just eject to open the top.
     
  4. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    But if neither drive has media in it, how can you select which drive to open ?

    Oh that would make sense I guess.

    Any one with 2 superdrived to confirm ?
     
  5. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #5

    Erm, I hadn't actually thought of that!:eek: :rolleyes:
     
  6. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #6
    option-eject

    Or, double-click on System:Library:CoreServices:Menu Extras:Eject.menu and you won't have to remember.
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Eject for top, Option-Eject for bottom. There will also be an Eject menu by the clock.
     
  8. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    Thanks everyone.

    I knew there had to be some simple answer, but wasnt sure what. Now i know. :)
     
  9. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #9
    RTFM:

    If that's too hard, just enable the eject menulet... ;)

    /System/Library/CoreServices/Menu Extras/Eject.menu

    Edit: Just like iMeowbot said... :D I gotta stop opening multiple tabs... :eek: ;)
     
  10. pbelmore macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #10
    Let's say you open that file, but then want to get rid of the menu (if you're a bonehead like me and wanted to see it even though I won't have a second SuperDrive for a few weeks for my MDD). How do you go about doing that? I tried right-clicking on the menu but that doesn't do anything.
     
  11. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #11
    Apple-click on it and drag it out of the menu bar. You can also rearrange the others by sliding them around that way.
     
  12. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    For what it's worth, I said it first and iMeowbot is trying to look superior by editing it in afterwards :p :eek:
     
  13. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #13
    You see... those are the subtle nuances I miss when I don't refresh every thread all the time... :eek:

    And that 5 minute free edit window may clearly be used for good or evil... :D
     

Share This Page