2 x g4's, 1 x panther 10.3.3, 1 x os 9.22, netgear dg834 adsl router anamoly

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by metso, Mar 17, 2004.

  1. metso macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #1
    Hello I have a strange anamoly hopefully someone can shed some light.
    first off I have 2 x g4's, 1 x dual 500 running panther 10.3.3. and the other 500 hz g4 running 9.2.2.
    I have a dg834 router
    okay first off both computers can connect to the internet using os 9.2.2 the problem arrises with in the dual 500 running panther.
    I connect using the built in ethernet via dhcp and if I check the network status it say's

    built in ethernet is currently active and has the ip address 192.168.0.3. You are connected to the internet via built in ethernet.

    the strange thing is is that safari 1.2.1 cannot browse neither can Internet explorer, nor does software update, neither does itunes radio, but strangely enough software such as limewire does connect. which confirms the computer is connected.

    all of your Proxies turned off in the Network preferences?


    Firewall within the sharing preferences is off.

    yet if I go to classic 9.2.2 I can browse the internet.

    Is there some settings i'm not aware off.

    thankyou for any help / advise anyone can offer.
    good day to you.
     
  2. niallerc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #2

    Does your IP configuration have any router settings? ie 192.168.0.100
    Is there any DNS information? ie Primary: 194.125.133.10, Secondary: 194.125.133.11?
     
  3. metso thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #3
    Does your IP configuration have any router settings? ie 192.168.0.100
    Yes, within sys pref, under network,
    TCP/IP tab,
    configure IPv4: using DHCP
    ip adress: 192.168.0.2
    subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    router: 192.168.0.1
    dns servers: nothing
    search domian; nothing
    IPv6: fe80:0000:0000:0000:0230:65ff:fee3:bfe2

    Is there any DNS information? ie Primary: 194.125.133.10, Secondary: 194.125.133.11?
    nothing.

    proxies tab
    no proxies selected.

    ethernet tab:
    ethernet id:00:30:65:e3:bf:e2
    configure: automatically.

    Thankyou for any help naillerc.
    metso
     
  4. niallerc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #4
    Metso

    I would suggest putting in DNS servers, this info should be available from your isp, the numbers I gave you are for indigo.ie (the isp I use) but there should be ones closer to home, try this and let me know how it goes. The numbers I gave you should work as it doesn't matter where you get your DNS from.

    So in the DNS tab put:

    194.125.133.10
    194.125.133.11

    and search domain

    indigo.ie

    try that, if it works, call your isp and get the local settings.
     
  5. metso thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #5
    niallerc, you did it
    i put those dns settings in and safari now works.
    you are brilliant.
    If i was in Ireland I'd buy a guiness to say thankyou and for a happy st patrick's day.
    I hope your having a good day because you've just made my day a whole lot better.
    Thank you
    metso
     
  6. niallerc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #6
    No worries, now all you have to do is contact your isp to find out the local settings, also when you get time try to figure out why your DHCP on the router isn't assigning that information to the macs or more specifically to Panther.
     

Share This Page