2 Xbox's on 1 network

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by dinggus, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #1
    My roommate and I are running 2 xbox's on 1 network. I don't know if it's because of my router or internet, but I drop connection or we'll lag for like 30 seconds and continue playing.

    I have Comcast 20mb/s and my router is Netgear WGR614v9.

    Does anyone know how to fix this?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Muscle Master

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #2
    sound like a bandwidth issue, are you able to system link via Ethernet cable and connect to xboxlive via wifi?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Muscle Master

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #4
    no.. I had to reread your op

    But is does sound like a bandwidth issues. I had this problem too, let me dig something up

    ----------

    Have you checked to see if both 360's are trying to connect to the router using the same IP? Might help checking in Network settings to make sure that both 360's are set to use dynamic IP's.

    If for some reason you can not use dynamic IP's then you could set your both IP's to static but make sure they are both different and in the range of your router example: 192.168.1.XXX as most routers use 192.168 for their IP range.

    if all else fails. use one on wifi and the other via ethernet cable
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #5
    Thank you, I'll look tonight when I get home. Check the network settings on the Xbox, correct?
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    imaketouchtheme

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    WV
    #6
    Correct.
     
  7. dinggus, Jan 25, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #7
    I checked both xbox's and we're on different IP's. I'll try hooking mine up to the router.

    Edit: Moved the xbox upstairs in my man cave, wired it to the router and we played for about an hour with no issue. Besides him saying there was some lag, but I told him I was downloading at over 1mb/s the whole time. So, thank you for the help! I wish there was a way I didn't need to have it wired though.
     
  8. macrumors demi-god

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #8
    There is buy a decent router! That will solve the issue
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #9
    What would you recommend? I thought what I had was decent, lol.
     
  10. macrumors demi-god

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #10
    What you have is a not frills basic pos that's rated for 54mbs and in real world rests will struggle to do 30mbs.

    Have a shop around there is plenty to chose from these days. If there both newer xboxs or older with the dual antenna wifi dongle then you should be on a N band router.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #11
    Okay, thank you.
     

Share This Page