20" ACD not HD?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Josias, Mar 10, 2006.

  1. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #1
    How come it only says HD next to the 23 and 30" ACD's?

    I know, that because of the lack of 30 pixels to do 1080p video, the 20" can only do 720p, but that is still HD standard (most HD TV's are 1280x768 or 1366x768).:confused:
     
  2. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #2
    It's for the HD Pro's. For them, for something to be labelled High Definition it MUST be capable of playing back all HD formats. All Apple's current widescreen lineup is able to play 720p HD video but not all can play 1080 natively. It's that function that makes the 23" and 30" Cinema Displays true HD displays.
     
  3. Josias thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #3
    Okay, thanks.

    Now, in the meantime, I found one more question to eat up your time. My Xbox 360, and it's games, all support up to 1080p video, yet I can find no HD TV's with higher resolution than 1366x768, so this is only 720p. Are there any TV's that supprts 1080p, or would you have to get an ACD, and could you actually hook that up to a 360?:confused:
     
  4. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #4
    I don't know much about how the XBox 360 works but I've not heard of anybody able to hook it up to a ACD because the XBox 360 has no DVI out. They have hooked them up to a Dell 24" which supports 1080p resolutions and has a number of input options.

    I'm guessing the 1080 option was built in to be able to keep it current when big TVs go to 1080 resolutions. Currently most digital HD broadcasts are in 720p due to the lower data rate required to carry the signal.
     
  5. Josias thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #5
    Ok, I guess you could get some sort of DVI to Component HD adapter, but I wouldn't mind. I would rather get a real tv.
     
  6. jtalerico macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    #6
    If you are a college student i can see where you are coming from. I just purchased a Dell 2005fpw. I have yet to try to hook up my PS2 to it and give it a try. I am thinking bout getting two 2005fpws... That would be sweet!
     
  7. JasonGough macrumors regular

    JasonGough

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #7
    this is interesteing...

    although i'm not looking at a 20" ACD, i'm looking at a 19" widescreen..

    its pixel count is 1440 x 900, does that mean its HD compatible with this 720p standard? that would be nice!
     
  8. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #8
    Yeah, 720p means you need to have a monitor at least 1280x720 so it'll fit in just fine.
     
  9. Josias thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #9
    Oh no!

    I though 1024x768 also was 720p, cause i got this 19" old CRT monitor, and if i bought a VGA cable for my 360, hoped i could use the monitor for HD.:(
     
  10. bodeh6 macrumors 6502a

    bodeh6

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
  11. Ashapalan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #11
    sounds like amazon!
     
  12. Josias thread starter macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #12
    I saw this Samsung 19" widescreen, combo TV and PC-monitor. 700:1, 370 cd/m2, 1440x900, 8ms, 16:9, SCART, DVI, VGA, antenna-thing (for TV). Really cool. HD-ready of course. It's $500. Not bad.:D
     

Share This Page