20" iMac faster in UT than 17"?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lightsout, Sep 25, 2006.

  1. lightsout macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    #1
  2. cbetta macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    #2
    didnt they just use the imac 17" with integrated intel graphics?
     
  3. mkubal macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa
    #3
    In bold. ;)
     
  4. lightsout thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    #4
    Nope..... both 17" versions are in the list.

    17" GMA950 - 21.7 FPS (ouch)
    17" X1600 - 65.5 FPS
    20" X1600 - 74.4 FPS

    Why is the 20" ~13% faster, when the processor is only 8% quicker? My only thought is the 256MB of VRAM, but they never mention it.
     
  5. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #5
    The 20" has 100% more VRAM than the 17", to drive about 73% more pixels. A little gain is inevitable.
     
  6. Dane D. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    ohio
    #6
    The difference is the CPU.
    UT is a CPU intense game unlike Quake or others. That slight speed bump accounts for the better fps. Years ago when UT99 came out, there was a tweak guide available. The first line in the guide stated this and proceeded to walk through all the tweaks you could do to squeeze out a few more fps. I think I still have it, as I still play UT99. I'm sure most of the tweaks would apply to any of the later versions.
     
  7. Sam* macrumors regular

    Sam*

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    There both using the 128 x1600

     
  8. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #8
    Enemy bots are very CPU intensive as I understand it. So maybe a botless flyby would show no difference, while an intense botmatch would benefit from higher GHz.

    Interestingly, Bare Feats showed NO FPS difference between 2.16 and 2.33 iMacs with 7600.
     
  9. MacProGuy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #9

    Anyone know how to run that bot demo that Bare Feats ran? I've googled it and gotten millions of results saying to run it, many from the Terminal... but... no instructions on how to do it?


    :confused:
     
  10. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #10
    It's very easy :) No messing with Terminal, or even messing with UT settings. Just point and click!

    1. Patch UT to the latest version (see http://macgamefiles.com ) of course.

    2. Download "Santaduck Toolpak for UT2004" version 3.3 from http://santaduck.com

    3. Run "Santaduck Standard Bench" (which is what Barefeats uses). Don't forget to choose Botmatch, Inferno, and enable sound and graphics.

    Let us know what you find!
     
  11. astewart macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    Charlottetown
    #11
    If you would like too see a few Benckmarks from UT 2004 on the 20" Core2Duo iMac, Click on this link.
     
  12. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12
    Yup. On the original Core Duo iMacs the 17" was clocked at 330MHz and the 20" was clocked at 400MHz for the X1600.
     
  13. lightsout thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005

Share This Page