2008 MacPro Power Supply work on a 2006 MacPro ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Macsonic, Sep 22, 2009.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #1
    Hello,

    I tried the "search" box before making this thread. Would like to know if the power supply from a 2008 MacPro work on a 2006 MacPro. If anyone has tried this? My 2006 MacPro shut down suddenly and would not turn on. I use an APC UPS plugged on a power surge outlet. The Mac technician who examined the unit suspected it might be the power supply but Apple may not have in stock the power supply for the Ist Gen MacPro.

    Thanks. Inputs appreciated.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    lannister80

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #2
    I'm sure Apple still has PSUs for the 2006 MacPros in stock, but it'll cost an arm and a leg.
     
  3. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    You can find them online.

    www.macpalace.com (they do carry them, as I've looked in the past).
    www.allmac.com, not sure if they carry that P/N. Maybe email or call to be sure.

    They aren't cheap though. Nearly $300USD, last I checked.

    Likely a few others, as well. Just do a search. :)
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    Id reset the SMC...
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #5
    Thanks to all the inputs. Appreciate it. :)
     

Share This Page