Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lionsfan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 21, 2011
Hi folks,
I got my 13" standard MBA 2 weeks ago and it has been wonderful except the battery only lasts 4 hours even when the screen is on half brightness. The timer fluctuates quite a bit from 3 hours to 7 and changes spontaneously even though I am not putting any extra strain on the battery. Has anyone else had this problem? My charger also over heats a lot and you can hear a lot of noise coming from it.
What is the best way to wipe the macbook clean before I return it without doing a complete reinstall. All I have is a bunch of documents which I will erase, some programs that i can uninstall and then a bunch of saved passwords in safari. And is the exchange policy 2 weeks from delivery date or order date?

misterneums

macrumors 6502
Nov 2, 2009
Hi folks,
I got my 13" standard MBA 2 weeks ago and it has been wonderful except the battery only lasts 4 hours even when the screen is on half brightness. The timer fluctuates quite a bit from 3 hours to 7 and changes spontaneously even though I am not putting any extra strain on the battery.
There are several things that could be contributing to your battery life. 1.) Do you have the back-lit keyboard on? If yes, what brightness setting? The lights do take quite a bit from the battery. Secondly - are you running a flash blocking application? Flash destroys a battery charge--it's a resource hog. What is your typical day on your air?

My charger also over heats a lot and you can hear a lot of noise coming from it.
My charger is dead silent--you may what to talk with an Apple Genius--perhaps you have a faulty charger, which could be leading to some of your above problems.