2012 21.5 inch Imac: How to turn off and on imac properly

Discussion in 'iMac' started by promotagged, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. promotagged macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #1
    I just purchased my first iMac yesterday and got the 21.5 inch. When I first opened the box to set up, I plugged in the plug into the electrical outlet and the imac turned on automatically without the need of pressing a button.

    Then I wanted to switch the location of where to plug in the electrical outlet and so I went to apple and shutdown at the top. I unplugged the outlet and plugged in the outlet again and it turned on right away again....

    Is something wrong? Is there a power button on the iMac?

    Thanks in advance...
     
  2. promotagged thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
  3. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #3
    There should be a power button on the back of your Mac, also there are settings in the Energy saver Preference Pane, see screenshot, there is a setting to automatically start after a power cut, which is the same as unplugging when the Mac is not of, you probably did not shut down the iMac properly and that's why it starts up again without your input.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. bobright macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #4
    Do people normally leave their iMacs in sleep mode a la the iPhone/iPad or is it good to shut it off completely?
     
  5. TrollToddington macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #5
    I always turn off my iMac whenever I don't use it. It shuts down in 5 seconds and powers on in 35. There's no need to have it switched on all day and night.
     
  6. atteligibility macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #6
    sleep mode for me
     
  7. promotagged thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #7
    Thanks for the replies...

    I have the box that says start up automatically after power failure unchecked...
    [​IMG]

    Also when I first took the imac out of the box, it started up automatically once i plugged in the electrical outlet...
     
  8. jmantn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    Tn
    #8
    Without actually googling it I was wondering if its ok to leave it on 24/7
     
  9. Gelite55 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    #9
    I've always put it to sleep whenever I'm away for more than 2 hours or sleeping. No problems yet.
     
  10. jmantn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    Tn
    #10
    Thanks!
     
  11. promotagged thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
  12. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #12
    Apple recommends putting the computer to sleep unless you aren't going to use it for days. I have always only set my display up to sleep, this uses the least power and the system is always there. It's also better for the system because heat cycles (turning it on and off) is what is harmful to electronics.
     
  13. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #13
    I turn mine on in the morning and use sleep mode all day. Then before I go to bed, I shut it down. That way each day I get a fresh reboot.
     
  14. ashleypenny macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    #14
    A common myth, alongside 'its cheaper to leave the heating on all day as it doesn't have to heat up when you turn it on'



    http://www.environment.columbia.edu/wycd/myth-fact
     
  15. Tucson Allen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    #15
    Sleep mode to prevent dust from settling?

    My daughter (IT system set-ups for Price Club/Costco stores and Help Desk) in 1998-99 when I got my first iMac, suggested leaving it in sleep mode rather than shutting it down. She thought that less dust would settle on the components if it were not turned off. I still think this is good advice. The original iMacs had an open top, later ones had a slot in the back near the top, and the 2012s have no slot at the top but air circulates throughout the innards by convection coming out at the vent if the machine stays a little warm.
     
  16. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #16
    So, it is still not resolved?
    Three things you can do:

    1. Reset PRAM---Hold Command-Shift-P-R on startup, hold for as long as 3 startup sounds then release.

    2. Reset SMC---Reset SMC on Apples Site.

    3. Repair permissions---Go into Disk Utilities, click on your HD, click repair permissions
     

Share This Page