2012 iMac Upgrading to SSD from stock 1TB HD... Where to get special OS?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Kmad86, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #1
    I've done some research and it seems like the Mountain Lion OS that comes on the 2012 iMac stock is a special version of Mountain Lion. Any idea how I would get that version on my SSD if I swap out the HD with the SSD? Or can I safely just use the standard 10.8 in AppStore?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #2
    All new macs have Internet recovery built in. As long as you have an Internet connection the iMac can get the proper OS itself.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #3
    What wouuld be special about it? And where have you read that?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #4
    I had read it on here, I think in the teardown thread. I believe a specific story was somebody putting a Crucial M4 512 in their computer and it wouldn't boot because it had the OS on it from their other computer, and it was a different build??
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    ConCat

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Location:
    In an ethereal plane of existence.
    #5
    This is correct. Apple uses a custom build containing code specific to the new model, until the next Mac OS update, where the differences are consolidated. However, it's irrelevant nowadays as the above poster mentioned because of Internet Recovery.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #6
    Great! Will go that route.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #7
    So ...
    - Install OS X on SSD
    - Boot Mac from SSD
    - Use Internet Recovery?
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #8
    With just the ssd the only valid boot option should be Internet recovery and it should boot into it automatically. If not I think you hold the R key while booting.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #9
    nope...

    - install SSD
    - boot with command + R
    - system will detect there is no recovery partiton, nor boot drives, and will load up internet recovery
    - select where to install OS X
    - let it download and install
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    Yep!

    Just did this on a MBP. Not a hybrid, but hd to ssd. Works great.

    Then used time machine.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #11
    Ohh, so the SSD will be completely empty, insert it in the Mac and try booting from it and it will bring up Internet Recovery? That's awesome! No need to manually install OS X on the SSD beforehand then!
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #12
    Yep!

    Yes. I also believe it will install the latest OS you've purchased and installed (from the Mac App Store), not the OS that originally came with the computer, which saves you another step.

    Can't confirm that, but I don't remember having to reinstall 10.7 and then upgrade to 10.8 when I replaced my hd with an ssd.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #13
    Awesome! Thanks :D
    Having to upgrade manually is just a minor thing though.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    #14
    Would this be the same for adding a ssd to a mid-2011 iMac with the original hd still in? Got a refurb with os x 10.8 already installed & didn't want to have to download for another $20.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #15
    Just did the internet recovery. Am I crazy, or does that log into a wireless connection without a password? I swore it was formatted and somehow still recovered from the internet. Once I installed it, it then asked for a password.
     

Share This Page