2012 MBA won't connect to 5GHz wifi

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by brsboarder, Jun 30, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    #1
    I have a mba and just got a new Netgear ac1450. I turned on the 5ghz and channel 157 because my MBA says that it can see that channel. However, I enter the wifi pw and it won't connect.
    I tried it with iphone 5 and it won't connect either. So its either a mac thing or the router.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    #2
    Well if the MBA and iPhone 5 both can't connect, it's most likely a problem with the router. However, the MBA may have problems because of the widely-known WiFi issues in the new 2013 MBA ac models. Also, as far as I know, the iPhone 5 doesn't have ac support... Which means it's a toss up between the MBA and the router. Can the MBA or iPhone connect to the router when not in ac mode?
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura
    #3
    If the 2.4Ghz signal is stronger than the 5Ghz one, it will automatically connect to the 2.4Ghz. If I move my 2012 MBA right next to the router, it switches over to the 5Ghz signal, but as soon as I start moving away, it will switch back.

    5Ghz doesn't travel as through walls or objects as well as 2.4Ghz because of the longer frequency wave.

    If you have the option on your router to create a second network for just 5Ghz like Airport expresses/extremes, then you can manually connect your MBA to that network. But as you move away from the router, your signal and speed will decrease.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    #4
    the router has the option to create two networks, one 2.4 one 5ghz with different names. It still won't let me connect to the 5.

    hmmm...maybe I should call the router company, although I haven't done that since wireless routers were just b and pretty difficult to setup.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #5
    What does "won't let me connect" mean exactly?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #6
    Try changing the channel it's connecting to.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    #7
    changed the channel multiple times
     

Share This Page