21.5 inch basic iMac (1299 version)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by kfishpro3, Nov 9, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    #1
    I currently have a mid-2010 Macbook Pro with a 2.4GHz Intel Core i5 and 8 gb of RAM. I am going to school for film/video production. I am big into short films and I also do weddings. I am starting to have to edit a lot more videos and my macbook pro just can't seem to handle it that well. It does the job, but runs slow. I want to upgrade to the new imac. Since I am in college, I can only afford the 1299 version. I use the Adobe Premium Production Suite, mainly premiere pro cs6 and after effects cs6. I edit DSLR 1080p footage. Would this iMac be a good upgrade from my macbook pro. Is it worth it for what I am going to use it for?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    #2

    No, sincerely, your actual MacBook is enough powerful then the basic model of iMac won't be a noticeable upgrade.... Save your money for a year!
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Aluminum213

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #3
    Editing on a 21.5' vs. 13-15' is a night and day experience in terms of ease
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    phoenixsan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #4
    Imho....

    the base model can be useful. But I am not so sure that is worth. My principal concerns are the HDD ( 1 TB) and RAM. 1080 footage can comsume fast a 1 TB drive. And Adobe software it is prone to eat RAM in chunks.....so, maybe you can buy the base model and upgrade components later, when you know for real how that works for your needs. The graphic card in this model sounds good and I believe it is CUDA enabled.

    Hope you can upgrade the RAM and HDD right away.....

    :):apple:
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    #5
    I actually do plan to upgrade to 16 gbs of RAM. So by doing that, would it be a good fit for what im doing? And my macbook pro hd knly has 320 gbs so 1TB is a bit of an upgrade for me. I have plenty of externals
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #6
    FCP X usese more GPU than CPU so the graphics (512mb) will maybe the bottleneck ?
     

Share This Page