Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CorvusCamenarum

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Dec 16, 2004
Birmingham, AL
I'd be curious as to what you all have to say about this, particularly any incoming freshmen.

link

Personally I find it lamentable but not surprising, given my school's apparent policy of letting you in if you have tuition and a pulse. You should already know how to read and count before you enter university.

gwuMACaddict

macrumors 68040
Apr 21, 2003
washington dc
i didn't take the ACT, but can vouch for the fact that most college freshman aren't ready for college...

and not just for academic reasons...

maturity is a huge factor- that i think can influence how one performs academically...

florencevassy

macrumors regular
Jun 1, 2004
Princeton, NJ
Good article. I admit that when I was a freshman I was not 100% ready for college. My SAT scores were average and I was pretty immature.

A few days before class started I we had to take Math and Reading tests and those that didn’t receive a certain score had to take a study skills class every week for the first semester. I really disliked the study skills class (although I don’t remember too much about it).

My College also had students in a HEOP (Higher Education Opportuinity Program).

Some info is here:
http://www.rit.edu/~305www/

They arrived at the college a month early and were also in the study skills class. Some students did well and others did not. One friend of mine that was in the HEOP became a lawyer and did very well.

I never did make the honor roll but I received a BA and I spent on semester abroad in Spain (which was one of the best experiences I had in college).

CubaTBird

macrumors 68020
Apr 18, 2004