$229 Apple TV Take 2 from MacWorld

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jbellanca, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #1
    So, with Steve's announcement of the new $229 Apple TV... obviously it's a free software upgrade to existing users like he said and the store says available in about 2 weeks... but... I was unclear as to whether th ere will be a hardware update in 2 weeks too? I noticed he didn't mention any 1080p update I was hoping for. So what's the consensus - software update in 2 weeks only, or that in conjunction with updated HW too?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #2
    It's all speculation at this point, but I'm thinking 720p, and same hardware.

    I didn't hear anything that would lead me to believe otherwise.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Enrico

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Milano / Roma
    #3
    As you can read on ipodlounge.com they state "new HDMI output modes" but I wasn't able to find any details on the 1080p I'm hoping too....
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #4
    what about us canadians? pointless
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #5
    No new hardware

    the hardware is the same, no change. It is a software update and will continue to be 720p at the top end (fine by me).
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #6
    What Steve meant about the hardware being updated was that all new Apple TV hardware will ship with the 2.0 software.

    Kevin
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Monkiki

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    #7
    Any idea if the Apple TV will be able to stream from the Time Capsule or does it absolutely need to stream from a computer with iTunes? I'm tempted to pick both up if it will so I can finally rid myself of all of my Windows hardware.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    #8
    so who is with me in thinking that this "update" is just to flush out the old model so some time... say 3-4 months... they do a quiet hardware upgrade?
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #9
    well i bought one today

    160gig new lower price which the stores didn't have in their database today so I paid 399 but will get credit later this week. I'm not real familiar with the atv but it had setting for 1080i display and i'm using that. software update in 2wks for new features. what i'm wondering is whether it will then pass 5.1 to the reciever on handbrake encodes? or just play 5.1 on downloaded from itunes hd movies. does handbrake have a setting to include 5.1 encoded audio? right now i'm watching a dvd i encoded and streaming from my mac's external usb drive and it looks great over wireless even!! i'm sold. I have a ps3 and have put handbrake ps3 preset dvd's on it and this atv beats that.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #10
    Where did you find that on ipodlounge? Not doubting you, I just couldn't find it.
     
  11. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    This question is on my mind as well. http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=4758836&postcount=75

    I have yet to see anything that clearly says whether this is supported or not, but having been burned on Time Machine not working on AirDisks, I'll believe it when I see it.

    I love my :apple:TV, but don't like having to leave my computers on all the time to extend its storage capacity. I sure hope they either make Time Capsule work or just simply enable the *&#^%*&Q USB port on the :apple:TV itself.

    B
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Enrico

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Milano / Roma
    #12
    Just click here and look at the last sentence under Apple TV.;)

    Anyway under Apple ATV specs page, they show 1280x720 resolution for HD rented movies.
    Seems like no way of 1080p output....my Blu-Ray titles will still do better:(
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #13
    what about those that own 1080p video cameras and use iMovie to manage their content.

    Will it stream those iMovie clips as 1080p or 720p?
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #14
    You will have to export those iMovie clips in an ATV compatible format (there is a preset for this). i.e. 720p.

    Kevin
     

Share This Page