23" Acd

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ^squirrel^, Aug 24, 2006.

  1. ^squirrel^ macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #1
    All,

    Apparantly the new Dell 24" screen will be able to play protected HD content. Is this the same for the 23" ACD? I noticed that the 23" on the Apple website says HD. What exactly do they mean by HD? I take it, it doesn't meet the standards required to wear the HD badge?

    Thanks all

    Darren
     
  2. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #2
    I think that the ACD 23" "HD" means that the screen is just High-Definition, I don't think it has anything to do with the ability to recieve HD content.
     
  3. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Geee you guys are quick today!

    Ahh thats a shame, i think i might go for the Dell then. Would like to hold out to see if Apple do release a HD content screen with built in iSight! :cool:
     
  4. Mav451 macrumors 68000

    Mav451

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    #4
    I believe you're referring to HDCP, allowing you to play DRM-infested content. Yes, I said infested...
     
  5. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #5
    yep thats what i mean. Thank you :D
     
  6. macgeek2005 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #6
    Apple isn't releasing new Displays anytime soon. They just updated the specs, and they still match the look of the Mac Pro, so no need for a redesign of any sort.
     
  7. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #7
    Note that to play HDCP content, you will need an HDCP-compliant PC (homebuilt will not qualify,) with an HDCP-compliant video card and monitor, and be running 64-bit Vista. 32-bit is considered too 'insecure' for the DRM. (Doesn't that fill you with confidence?)
     
  8. tutelary macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    #8
    homebuilt qualifies perfectly fine as long as you have hdcp compliant componets. hdcp is effectively dead in the water anyway at the moment, as no one is shipping or will be shipping discs with the image constraint tokens enabled for some time.
     
  9. Mav451 macrumors 68000

    Mav451

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    #9
    ehurtley - Where did you get information saying homebuilts would be locked out? Most of what I read centered on the lack of a stand-alone retail video card that actually has HDCP.

    http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/ati_nvidia_hdcp_support/page4.asp
     
  10. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #10
    Oh....

    Well after that information then maybe i'll buy a acd to match the mac pro
     

Share This Page