24" iMac is 64bit?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ksgant, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. ksgant macrumors 6502a

    ksgant

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    From what I can see, the processor inside the 24" iMac is a true 64bit processor. Is this true? I know that Leopard is suppose to be full 64bit when it comes out, but if I were to get a new 24" iMac today, and I suddenly became insane and wanted to install Vista on it, would I use the 64bit version of Vista?

    And if the iMac IS 64bit, why is it that it can only use 3Gigs of RAM in it?

    Thanks...I'm about to come back to Macs after about a 6 year absence right after we get our tax refund.
     
  2. AlexH macrumors 68000

    AlexH

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #2
    Anything with a Core 2 Duo is "64-bit ready", and the 24" iMac has a Core 2 Duo chip. ;)

    As for the RAM limitation, I'm not sure, I'll leave that to more experienced mac geeks. Might be a chipset limitation, not sure.
     
  3. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #3
    Because it still has the old chip set that only addresses 4GB. The extra GB is currently reserved for system stuff. If you need to put more than 3GB in an iMac you need something besides an iMac. Two GB should be fine and affordable.
     
  4. a456 macrumors 6502a

    a456

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #4
    Until Intel release the Santa Rosa motherboard (?) the whole architecture will not be 64-bit despite having a 64-bit CPU, as I understand it. This gives you the restriction to 3 GB.
     
  5. AlexH macrumors 68000

    AlexH

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #5
    The current line is still capable of running 64-bit apps and OS, just not taking advantage of the memory muscle 64-bit brings.
     
  6. ksgant thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ksgant

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    Thanks guys, that really helps a lot. I only planed on getting 2Gigs of RAM on the iMac anyway, I was just curious about the 3Gig limit. Now I know.

    Hopefully I'll be back aboard the Macintosh train within 2 to 3 weeks!
     
  7. kixsand macrumors regular

    kixsand

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #7
    I asked this question just the other day...so I'll post the link to the thread that followed my querie.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=273522

    darren
     

Share This Page