24" processor: socketed or soldered?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by nagromme, Sep 17, 2006.

  1. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #1
    Any confirmed evidence either way? I have seen people claiming both.

    (2.33 isn't a huge jump, but if you can never change chips later, it becomes more tempting.)
     
  2. I'mAMac macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #2
    Probably soldered to the board. I think you can replace the vid card though...
     
  3. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #3
    I'd assume it was socketed like the other iMacs. Of course that's just a pure guess.
     
  4. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #4
    You might ask the folks over at XLR8yourMac.com

    Or the guys over at Barefeats
     
  5. yoak macrumors 65816

    yoak

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #5
    No you can´t, it´s a link to a review/story somewhere here on MR. The slot seems to just make it easier for manufacturers to put what ever card they are selling. You can´t do it yourself
     
  6. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #6
    Well, I'd imagine you're both wrong. I am sure that if you could somehow find a MXM 7600GT card you could put it in to replace the stock 7300GT, but the trouble with that is you can't buy a replacement card anywhere, so good luck. Additionally, if you could find a replacement part, it would almost certainly have to be either a 7300gt or 7600gt from another iMac or from Apple somehow for reasons of firmware and driver compatibility.
     
  7. Xander562 macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #7
    i think the CPU is in a socket, just because EVERY OTHER iMac's is. but that's just me.

    for the GPU i have no idea.
     
  8. NextTuesday macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    #8
    I too think its socketed, you could always open yours up and find out...;)
     
  9. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #9
    i think socketed also.
     
  10. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #10
    I'll await confirmation on the processor :)

    (Re the GPU: I'd consider it a matter of whether a THIRD party ever makes an upgrade. Nothing is certain, but I think it's likely one day, judging by all the unofficial enhancements you can get for other past Macs. It wouldn't be a cheap upgrade, but it would be cheaper than buying a whole new Mac. I like having the potential, anyway.)
     
  11. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #11
    It's a matter of drivers, really. Eventually someone will start selling MXM graphics cards separately, and assuming you can find an OS X driver for one, it SHOULD work...
     
  12. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #12
    Does the 24" MXM card use a standard MXM connector only... or a standard MXM connector AND form factor? (If the latter, then a custom iMac board need not be made. Just drivers as you say.)
     
  13. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #13
    Another relevant Q:

    Any guesses what a 2.33-2.66 Core 2 Duo chip will cost, by itself, in one year? (I'm not expecting any faster than that to fit in this socket.)

    If it's going to cost $250 anyway, I should just upgrade to 2.33 from the start.
     
  14. kylepro88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #14
    I talked to Apple and the CPU is soldered so I got my CPU upgrade instead of RAM. RAM can be upgraded but the is the one thing that can't.

    -Kyle
     
  15. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #15
    Thanks! That surprises me, but (probably) the person at Apple knew what they were talking about.

    It's not TOO disappointing, since CPU upgrades would always be very limited: Merom's socket is due to change I believe.

    Are ALL the C2D iMacs soldered, I wonder?
     
  16. Silentwave macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #16
    Whatever the case it really doesn't matter seeing as the socket in question will top out at 2.33GHz Core 2. You cannot use the 2.66 etc. desktop chips, nor will it support the next version of the mobiles, with 800MT/S FSB, as it uses a new socket!
     
  17. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #17
    Do we know for sure that the current socket will get no chips beyond 2.33? Or is that just assumption?

    For instance, they're still making faster and faster Yonahs even though Merom is out. So it seems as though there could be more current-socket Meroms out even after Meroms come out for the new socket.

    I wouldn't expect MANY more Meroms for the current socket, but has Intel actually said there will be none?
     

Share This Page