24inch imac 'issues'

Discussion in 'iMac' started by speakerwizard, Nov 1, 2006.

  1. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    ok, so i just repaired permissions cause there was some strange things going on. (icons not appearing on desktop until finder restarted etc.) and now the iMac wont sleep on its own, so i disconnected all bluetooth and usb, still nothing, also did a SMC reset, didnt help. thinking i may have to reset PRAM but not done it before, any one know how to do it on an imac 24"? also, should i wait until i get an external HD to back up before a PRAM or is there no risk from it?, cheers for the input in advance guys
     
  2. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #2
    ^ zap the PRAM as much as you want... did you try all the ways to sleep? hold in play/pause on the remote.

    Wait, waht do you mean it wont sleep on it's own? like auto sleep via timer?
     
  3. speakerwizard thread starter macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    yeah, sorry meant auto sleep, it will sleep when told to, ive always hated how 'sensitive' the auto sleep is on macs, i used to have a powermac with a hundred things plugged in so that never had a chance in hell of sleeping but this imac is being a bit fussy, ill zap the PRAM and see how it goes, have to look up how to do it 1st on an imac
     
  4. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #4
    cmd-alt-p-r Universal startup keys! hold these in when you hear the "dweeew" @ startup. Also, test the sleep with short sleep times.
     
  5. speakerwizard thread starter macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    ok, so i zapped the PRAM and . . . still no auto-sleep hhmmmm:confused: well i had a go at taking out my eyeTV as well, still nothing, ANY IDEAS, the only other things i can think of are :
    EyeTV helper (as a login item, i asume this is for the remote ?)
    or mira, remote button mapper software ???

    any ideas?
     
  6. speakerwizard thread starter macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
  7. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #7
    Hmm, interesting? Can you manual sleep? Can you dim the screen?
     
  8. speakerwizard thread starter macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    yup, screen dims before screen sleep, and i can manual sleep (HD sleep). im at a loss, only thing i can think is eyeTV but it was auto sleeping before permissions repaired :confused:
    i have tried all these:

    SMC
    PRAM
    Wireless
    USB
    Permissions
    and still nothing

    hhhmmmm
     
  9. speakerwizard thread starter macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
    just as an update, i tried the sleep schedule and it did put the HD to sleep, then tried auto-sleep and still nothing! AAGGHHH lol, very strange
     
  10. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #10
    Wait for the external HDD, back EVERYTHING up (ie, take a disk image of the iMac's HDD and stick it on the external drive), and then re-install OS X. If it did it AFTER you repaired permissions, then it's certainly a software problem.
     
  11. speakerwizard thread starter macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #11
    thanks, i see little else i can do to be honest, whatever comes first, the HD or the next software update for tiger.
     
  12. Carguy172 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
  13. zz5555 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    #13
    If nothing else works, you might try sleepwatcher (http://www.bernhard-baehr.de/). I had a similar problem with my mini and finally solved it by having sleepwatcher put the mini to sleep after two hours of inactivity. Works like a charm now.

    Steve
     
  14. zz5555 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    #14
    If nothing else works, you might try sleepwatcher (http://www.bernhard-baehr.de/). I had a similar problem with my mini and finally solved it by having sleepwatcher put the mini to sleep after two hours of inactivity. Works like a charm now.

    Steve
     

Share This Page