250GB Apple TV?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jdylan, Oct 23, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    jdylan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Location:
    Bagram, Afghanistan
    #1
    Hi, sorry if this is a stupid question, but I searched the forum and couldn't find an answer. I am a Apple TV newbie, looking to buy one for the first time. I looked on eBay and found the 40GB, the 160GB, and also a 250GB? I didn't see a 250GB on the Apple site, so is this a scam, or did the seller modify the thing? He has a picture of a legit Apple box, so it looks real.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/APPLE-TV-250-GB...=39:1|66:2|65:3|240:1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

    Also, can anyone recommend a good place to buy one? Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Donar

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    It sounds like the seller has put an 250 Gig HDD in the device.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #3
    It is not a scam, but your Apple warranty will be void. If you need more than 160 GB of HD space, you'd be better off to patch your aTV and connect an external USB harddrive.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #4
    It's been modified. And if you are any type of person that likes to:
    1) DIY
    2) Save some money
    3) Want the extra space,

    then buy the 40gb ATV, and the appropriate 250gb (Western Digital Scorpio WD2500BEVE, PATA ~$50-100) hard drive and do-it-yourself!

    Downside: Voided Apple warranty. Not like it truly matters, though. I haven't heard much in terms of AppleTV failure or problems that require warranty service. Do what I did, buy a used 40GB AppleTV. Mine's out of warranty, and I plan on upgrading some time in the future.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #5

    If you go this route reference Cave Man's excellent write-up on 'how to' and then some.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=438073
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #6
    Boxee?

    Does Boxee qualify as one of the 'patching' solutions to get USB connectivity to work?

     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    mathcolo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #7
    I would air on the side of caution and not buy that item. You never really know what has been done to it when the specs don't match Apple's configurations.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #8
    Just to distract from the OP's question, I have one about upgrading the hard drive on my Apple TV to 250GB.

    I'm pretty comfortable with hardware, so I have no qualms about swapping out the drive. My concern is in actually making the copy of the 40GB drive to the 250GB one. Specifically, how can I be confident that when I hook up the 40GB drive to my G5 iMac via a IDE->USB/FW cable that I will not corrupt the HD and brick the whole thing?

    A couple of the web sites I have read seem to indicate that using a PowerPC Mac can cause problems with parts of the hard drive. I'm not inclined to drop $150 on a forensic read-only drive bay. I can probably get access to an Intel MacBook for a few days as well. I'm just worried about the risk of having a bricked ATV before I can build myself a backup image.

    Anyone whose done this have any thoughts? Thanks in advance!
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #9
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #10
    no, there is a specific USB patch available.

    PM me
     

Share This Page