27" 2012 iMac w/ 768 SSD. Adding internal second SSD?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Gene S, Dec 30, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    #1
    I have the 27" 2012 iMac with 768GB SSD. I've read that the SSD is a blade, meaning I should have a free SATA port in there somewhere. Shouldn't I be able to add a standard 2.5 SSD drive? I'm thinking a 512GB Samsung 840 Pro.

    I seriously doubt I would do it myself. I've read you can take it to an authorized Apple repair store to get aftermarket drives installed without voiding the warranty. (Excluding the addition.)

    I do not want an external drive. I bought an all-in-one, I'd rather like to keep it that way. :)
     
  2. macrumors regular

    NVRENUF!

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    PERTH, Australia
    #2
    Can't see why not.

    How ever I haven't seen any body that got the blade ssd only crack open the machine so can't confirm if the sata cables are sitting there for the second drive. or the brackets to hold the hdd in place.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #3
    Where's info about taking it to an Apple Store to install third-party drives? Never heard of it but would be very nice!
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    #4
    That would be nice. Waiting to see if this works for anyone.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #5
    If you're going to open it up anyway, why on earth pay the crazy Apple SSD premium in the first place?!

    But yes, that'd work.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #6
    This!:eek:
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #7
    Well if he wants two SSD's he'd still need the Apple one :p.

    There will be a spare SATA port on the back of the MLB - the cables from a Mid 2011 iMac should work (then again, so should any SATA cable - they're generic connectors).

    You won't have the mountings for a second SSD, but velcro sorts that out! :)
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #8
    I installed a blade type SSD myself. I currently have two SSDs in my imac.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    #9
    Is the blade 768GB?
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #10
    No. 256.

    There's some 768s available at around £600 though. And 512s for about £360 iirc.
     
  11. fpdesign, Jan 1, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2013

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #11
    Sorry can explain how to ?

    Is the last 2012 imac bto with ssd or the basic model with hd?
    What cable have you used?

    Which brand is the ssd?

    What about trim enabler?

    i have see this picture

    http://threedevices.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/inside-imac.jpg


    This ssd work inside the imac in the blade slot?
    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/OWC/Aura_Pro_Air_2012
    Or is better buy the iMac with SSD and put another SSD or HD in the HD place?
     
  12. pubjoe, Jan 1, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2013

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #12
    No, that's a Macbook Air SSD. The imac uses the same type as found in the retina Macbook Pro. Search ebay for "retina MacBook ssd". Also, I'm not a fan of OWC's blade SSDs at all to be honest but that's another story.

    I bought the new iMac 27" (top model but with only the 1TB hdd). I didn't need a cable as the 2.5" SSD simply replaced the stock HDD. The 'blade type' SSD plugs straight into a slot on the logic board.

    Have a look through the thread titled "Rip those iMacs open".
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    #13
    Hi,

    I was wondering about doing this. Does this mean that if you order the 1TB late 2012 27" iMac, it is fitted with a blade sad connector at the back?
     

Share This Page