2GB Flash Drive Now Shows 128GB????

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by elisha cuthbert, May 25, 2006.

  1. elisha cuthbert macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #1
    Ok heres the story, my mum went to hong kong and bought 2 usb flash drives (branded sony but not sure about authenticity), so i plugged them into my mac and renamed them came back about an hour later with them to transfer some files to them, transfered about 125mb of stuff over and ejected them. when i plugged them in again and tryed to open some files and then preview said that they were corrupted, tried to open portable firefox and that wouldn't work either, went to the dreaded pc and plugged them in and it didnt work either, then i formatted them on the pc did the same again still to no avail, tried using disk utility to format same thing again, now when i plug one of them into my mac it shows up as 128GB free
    please help me as i need all the space on these flash drives for school files.
     
  2. wasimyaqoob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    London, England.
  3. elisha cuthbert thread starter macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #3
    I would love to but almost every 2nd file i put on gets corrupted
     
  4. amacgenius macrumors 68000

    amacgenius

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #4
    Here's your problem, the drives were bought in Hong Kong and "supposedly" Sony branded :rolleyes:.
     
  5. elisha cuthbert thread starter macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #5
    well they were $40Aud for both
     
  6. Eniregnat macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #6
    I think you got hosed.

    For giggles you could try reformatting the sticks.

    They may actually be Sony rejects that somehow did not get recycled, but more likely are poor Sony knockoffs.

    I read somewhere in the past couple of weeks that a knockoff company was actually developing it's own hardware lines, and badgeing them. They weren't just copying the company.

    I got hosed at a computer fair. I bought what looked like a giant spindle of CD-Rs (back when they were expensive). The were all reject burns from some company.
     
  7. elisha cuthbert thread starter macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #7
    [​IMG]

    One of them works now. i gave it to the techie at school and he formatted one of them and now that one works fine but the other one couldnt be formatted
    so i get one working usb for $40AUD and one bogus one for free
     
  8. Eniregnat macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #8
    [Do a security delete useing the DiskUtility, 35 pass. Then try formating it in FAT32 doing the same thing.

    It couldn't hurt. Perhaps something will "unstick", perhaps it is just a transistor that is stuck. Not likely, but possible.
     
  9. dualcore macrumors member

    dualcore

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
  10. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #10
    Call up Sony and see if they're authentic or not, and if they are, see what kind of warranties they have.
     
  11. elisha cuthbert thread starter macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #11
    well at school i managed to put like 5.8GB on it with no problems but i dont know where i am going to get 128GB to test it with
    [​IMG]
    the blue one is the working one and the silver one is the 128GB
    [​IMG]
    would you call it sony cause ive never seen a sony memory stick looking like that anywhere
    ive tried that and now it isnt mounting or showing up in disk utility
     
  12. elisha cuthbert thread starter macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #12
    ok first a question, is there such a thing as a 128GB flash memory chip?
    ans secondly and update, i plugged the working one in to my ibook and just for kicks opened Disk Utility, the flash drive showed that it was a 128GB one but it had been partitioned in a way where it had 2GB windows dos file format and the other ??gb of space was "Free Space", so naturally i experimented making 4 partions and with that working i thought i would try for 6 tried that and just when it was about to finish i got the grey screen (the restart or die one) so i rebooted and partitioned it back into 1 partition of 2GB with the remainder free space. hope this works for as long as my other one....
     

Share This Page