2gb is better den 3 GB or ram?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mith, Nov 15, 2006.

  1. mith macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
    #1
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303553
    that's the link , ( u don't need to go there) ..here is what they say

    The MacBook Pro will run fine with either a single memory slot filled or with both memory slots filled with two unmatched memory sizes (such as a 512MB DIMM in one slot and a 1GB DIMM in the other).

    However, if both slots are loaded with an equal amount of RAM (such as two 512MB DIMMs of the same type), you can take advantage of the system's dual-channel memory architecture for an additional performance boost. With a dual-channel memory interface, both banks of SDRAM can be addressed at the same time, enabling MacBook Pro to reach a memory throughput of up to 10.7 GBps.

    so for my 24-inch iMac core 2 duo,,,2 gb is better? ( cause it says if both slots filled with equal lets say 1gb , and 1gb), will get better performance > den 3gb
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    im gonna say no not at all. 3gb is better i mean its 50% more ram..... no way dual channel will give you that much improvement
     
  3. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #3
    3GB will be much better "den" :)confused: I get the whole "IM speak" thing but then shouldn't it be "dan"?? ;) ) 2GB.

    Dual channel won't give you anywhere near the same level of performance as an extra GB of RAM.
     
  4. SFVCyclone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Pasadena, Ca
    #4
    This is a good one, it probably depends on what kinds of apps you will be running.
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    The referenced Apple KB article is for the Mac Book Pro Core Duo.
    It is not relevant to the Core2Duo machines.

    The best information we have so far is that the Core2Duo machines can implement asymmetrical dual-channel when you have a 1 Gb and a 2 Gb module installed... therefore there would not be a penalty to installing the 2 Gb module, and it would be faster in situations where you can exploit the extra Gb of memory.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     

Share This Page