2GB memory

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Badrottie, May 17, 2011.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Badrottie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    add 2GB memory make any difference? Better performance?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Endwell, NY
    #2
    Usually depends on the operating system, but in a nutshell, yes. Your system will probably be a little bit snappier with an extra gig if all you're doing is web browsing and e-mail. If you do more intensive work than that, the system will take more advantage of that extra gig and you'll notice more improvement.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #3
    It depends on what you are doing and if you are maxing out your current ram, but probably more ram will make your computer run faster.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Badrottie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    thanks I am going to use Adobe Photoshop element final cut express and toast titanium. I guess it helps better anyway that is for learning purpose before I upgrade to MBP

    oh by the way I am running Leopard 10.5.8
     
  5. macrumors 601

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #5
    For those things, 2GB will help. It will still be slow, since it's running on an old computer, but it will be better with more ram.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    mabaker

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #6
    Always pay attention to the Activity Monitor and how much Page Outs you have.

    If you have something like that (Leopard) then you are in trouble and additional RAM will improve things:

    [​IMG]

    Be sure that Page Outs number is not higher than 1 GB.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #7
    I have 2GB in both my Macs and it helps a lot vs. 1GB.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #8
    i max out ram on all my old macs...
     

Share This Page