2GB ram chips for iMac Duo Core?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by kugino, Feb 12, 2006.

  1. kugino macrumors 65816

    kugino

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    #1
    the max RAM for the CD iMac is 2GB. is this only because RAM chips are presently maxed out at 1GB, or is there a limit based on the chip architecture or some other aspect of the machine? in other words, once 2GB chips came out (if they do), would it be possible to run the machine with 4GB ram?
     
  2. iQuit macrumors 6502a

    iQuit

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
  3. kugino thread starter macrumors 65816

    kugino

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    #3
    why the rolling of the eyes? i have not seen 2GB chips for the intel iMacs yet from any of the places that sell them...
     
  4. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #4
    So far Apple wants you to have either an Xserve, PowerMac, or an iMac G5 Rev C they take 2GB RAM modules, they are very very expensive, but are even more expensive for the Intel iMac, since it uses SO-DIMM vs Regualr DIMMs ;)
     
  5. kugino thread starter macrumors 65816

    kugino

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    #5
    yes, i know there are 2GB chips for some Mac hardware. but i still want to know whether the 2GB limitation in the intel iMac is because there just aren't any 2GB chips for it, or whether it's a limitation of the intel iMac...
     
  6. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #6
    i'm not sure, but there is a rumor that the core duo might be 64-bit, and it so, then it might be able to take more ram
     
  7. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    At present -- it's a limitation of the intel iMac according to Apple.
     
  8. kugino thread starter macrumors 65816

    kugino

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    #8
    thanks!
     

Share This Page