2GB Ram Stick in a CD MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BiikeMike, Jan 7, 2007.

  1. BiikeMike macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #1
    So I'm looking for new RAM, and I wen't to the Apple site to check out prices, and lo and behold, they have a 2 gig stick on the Core Duo upgrade page. Did I miss some type of firmware upgrade somewhere? I thought they could only handle 2x1GB?
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    That's not a 2 GB stick...it's a 2 x 1 GB kit.
     
  3. smueboy macrumors 6502a

    smueboy

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Oz
    #3
    if you look carefully it says:

    "Apple Memory Module 2GB 667MHz DDR2 (PC2-5300) 2x1GB SO-DIMMs
    Estimated Ship: Within 24 hours
    Free Shipping"
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    And to answer the original premise: A 667 MHz 2 Gb SODIMM module will fail to boot in a CoreDuo machine or a MacBook. One guy reported getting a MacBook to run with a single 533 2 Gb module, at a reduced speed, but crashed whenever there was any module in the second socket.
     
  5. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #5
    Ah Yes, so it does my friend.

    What have we learned today? read twice before posting stupid questions on message boards :)

    I had a long day at work OK?
     
  6. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #6
    So, on the subject, is it worth the extra $76 to get it from the apple store, or can I go across the street to CompUSA and get the Same for Cheaper?
     

Share This Page