2GHz G3's!?

Discussion in 'Hardware Rumors' started by mmmdreg, Apr 28, 2002.

  1. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
  2. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #2

    hmmm, not out of date by far.... :p
     
  3. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #3
    2nd May, 2001. Slightly out of date :)

    I don't think the G3 will ever see 2 GHz. If it does, apple will have G5s by that time, and that would seem like buying a PII now. It's psychologicly slow.
     
  4. namu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Location:
    Far.
  5. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
  6. xelterran macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    #6
    holy crap

    holy crap 1964 posts!! loel anyway about these new g3's i dont really think apple will use them - certainly not in top end macs - possably in ibooks if they run cool? i wanna see this g5 cmon apple!!!
     
  7. me hate windows macrumors 6502

    me hate windows

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    #7
    yay, my 200th post:) Wow, I only post 2 times a day.

    Back to the point

    It is out of date, but I wouldnt be surprised if the iBook stayed G3 for another 1 to 2 years and got one of those processors
     
  8. iH8Quark macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Location:
    Big Shoulders
    #8
    G5 chip

    I found this link in the IBM research site. It talks about IBM's 64-bit Power PC chip running at 1.15 GHz. The article doesn't have a date. I'm assuming it's at least a little old because it's built with .22 micron layers, and uses 112 watts! (seems like a lot).

    Rivina 1.15 GHz 64-bit PowerPC Processor

    The chip is obviously for servers, but at least we know a 64-bit GHz+ PowerPC chip exists, or has existed. I thought it was interesting that it only has a 6 stage pipeline. Don't the G4's have an 8 stage?

    I would have made a new thread with this, but, sadly, I can't yet.

    Arn, where's the love, man? :D ;)
     
  9. IndyGopher macrumors 6502a

    IndyGopher

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #9
    Uh.. no.. it's 2. May
     
  10. chmorley macrumors 6502a

    chmorley

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #10
    Re: G5 chip

    G4's have a 7 stage pipeline.

    I am not sure where arn has put his love.

    Chris
     
  11. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #11
    a little old...

    i'm sure that Apple would have updated it's plans alot more by now.
     
  12. mmmdreg thread starter macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #12
    Re: holy crap

    There's stuff in the article about AltiVec-smilar technologies used and it also says 2GHz+...there's also stuff about other technology...isn't the G5 800MHz -2GHz? Anyway, what if they rebrand this as a G4 and Apple dumps the Motorola G4 for this and uses it in their iBooks and iMacs?Then we could have tehe pro G5's with G4's still a formadiable force in the market place..anyone understand my ramblings?
     

Share This Page