2nd HDD in base 2011 Mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by JupiterTwo, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    JupiterTwo

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Location:
    GB
    #1
    Anyone know if you can put a 2nd HDD inside the base 2011 Mini now?
    Given the same chassis, it doesn't sound unreasonable? :)

    Cheaper server version, or am I missing something?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #2
    I'm curious about this as well. I'm hoping to be able to place an SSD next to the existing HDD in one of the non-server models.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #3
    I also want to do this. I hope it works but we will need to wait until the mini has been teared down :)
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    #4
    I am also waiting for a teardown in order to see what are inside a Mac Mini.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #5
    I'm REALLY hoping that the 500GB version isn't 2 250GB HDDs running as RAID 0. That would REALLY suck.
     
  6. C64
    macrumors 6502a

    C64

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #6
    If they don't plug the flash directly into the mini's motherboard, like they do with the MacBook Air. That's probably harder to find and do by yourself.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    Will be interestign because the $799 model offers a 750GB HDD and 256 SSD drive so I assume there are two ports, but boohoo on removing the Superdrive, now I have to either use DVD sharing or get a cheap USB external for Encoding my DVD's :rolleyes:
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #8
    Hi,
    looks like you can put 2 hard drives in 2.5 model:
     

    Attached Files:

  9. macrumors 6502a

    BJonson

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    #9
    Imac was same way but it did not include the cable if you ordered it with just one drive. Lets hope the dual drive cable is in there if you order it with only one drive.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    #10
    The 500GB models do not include the second hard drive cable. There is an empty SATA zif port on the motherboard however, and room for the 2nd HD. (It may also require temp sensor. Unsure.)
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    BJonson

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    #11
    In all sincerity, how do you know this?
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

Share This Page