2nd monitor problem (or expose problem?)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Nuks, Dec 28, 2006.

  1. Nuks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #1
    My brother usually uses a second monitor, however he doesn't have it with him right now. Whenever he opens Google Earth, it opens "off the main screen" and he can only see it when he uses expose. Is there any way to drag it to the main screen or anything? Hooking up a second monitor is not an option.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Temujin macrumors 6502a

    Temujin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #2
    Good question. I've had similar problems with other apps.
     
  3. Nuks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #3
    I hate to bump it, but we really can't figure this out
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Well, if he had the second display, he could use the "gather all windows" thing. But without it, it won't work...

    One thing that might is to change the resolution of the internal display to another (lower) resolution for a moment. Let it adjust the screen, and it should place all windows onscreen for you. Then adjust back to native res.

    I think a consequence of this may be that when he does plug in the old monitor, however, he will have to re-arrange the two screens.
     
  5. Nuks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #5
    Yeah, we tried lowering the resolution but it didn't do anything.
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    I don't really know Google Earth, but depending on how sophisticated its preferences are, or whether they can be exported, is it an option to spotlight its preference (plist) file (while it is not running) and delete it?

    It should be remembering that you moved it to the primary display; it should not re-open off-screen again and again when you move it and close it properly.

    Therefore, I'm wondering if the plist file is corrupted and if deleting it and forcing a new one to be made would help?
     
  7. aj98 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #7
    You don't say what kind of machine - if it's a desktop, *and* has a second physical video card to which the other monitor was attached, open the case, remove the 2nd video card.

    Close the case, restart the machine, and run Google Earth.

    It should now appear on the main screen. Relocate the window.
    That should reset the window location preferences.

    Quit google earth, and reopen it. Should appear on the main screen.
    If it does, shutdown, reinstall the video card.
     
  8. Lixivial macrumors 6502a

    Lixivial

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
    #8
    I don't know if Nuks tried it yet, but that does work for me. :)

    Deleting:

    /Library/Preferences/com.Google.GECommonSettings.plist
    ~/Library/Preferences/com.Google.GECommonSettings.plist
    ~/Library/Preferences/com.Google.GoogleEarthPlus.plist

    resets the window position for me.
     

Share This Page