2x512 or 1x1gig

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by backsidetailsli, Sep 3, 2006.

  1. backsidetailsli macrumors 65816

    backsidetailsli

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto!
    #1
    helllo
    when i bought my mac i upgraded to 1 gig of ram. the guy who did this only put one gig into one of the two slots in my iMac, leaving one slot empty. my question is, am i getting the same preformance as if i were to have 2 512mb sticks occupying both slots? am i in danger of killing the one stick of ram?
    thanks!
     
  2. AvSRoCkCO1067 macrumors 65816

    AvSRoCkCO1067

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    CO
    #2
    It's actually better to have a single 1 GB stick, as the speed differences with having 2x512 MB sticks are negligible; this way, if you want to upgrade in the future, just add another 1 GB stick in, rather than having to remove both 512 MB sticks and add 2x1 GB sticks in.
     
  3. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    Absolutely. One 1GB stick would be better because if you ever want to upgrade in the future, you have that flexibility.

    You are in no danger of killing the one stick of RAM, and it's perfectly fine to have one slot empty.
     
  4. backsidetailsli thread starter macrumors 65816

    backsidetailsli

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto!
    #4
    awesome!! i was just wondering if i did need another gig cause i have a stat monitor that says 15mb free when i run certain programs.

    you can see where its almost at its max in the second row. right now its in the 300s but sometimes its really low
    [​IMG]

    is this ok?
     
  5. MacFan25863 macrumors 6502a

    MacFan25863

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    #5
    Depends. If your computer runs really slow, then yes, upgrade the memory.

    If you don't see a need to boost the performance, then save your money.

    I have 1.5 gigs in my iMac G5 and it runs quite well. I can have a 10 GB Final Cut Pro project and Photoshop file open and switch between them with no issues.
     
  6. backsidetailsli thread starter macrumors 65816

    backsidetailsli

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto!

Share This Page