3 Displays

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by localdis, Jan 21, 2005.

  1. localdis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #1
    I have a G4 quicksilver running 2 displays. Well this sounds good but still i get too cluttered and I decided that I need a 3rd screen. I just wanted to know if this is possible if I just get a new graphic card? Or what do I need
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Just grab a PCI video card and pop it in there.
     
  3. Cybernanga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Location:
    Essex, United Kingdom
    #3
    As long as you have a free slot, and another compatible graphics card, you can add your third monitor.
    (technically, you can have as many monitors as there are free slots.)
     
  4. wPod macrumors 68000

    wPod

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #4
    yes, this is possible. but it also helps to have a third eye to watch your third screen. youll have to post pics of your set up once you have 3 monitors, that just sounds fun/cool.
     
  5. localdis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    California
  6. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    Should be. Plug it in, OS X will detect it and set it up, when you go in to your displays prefs you should see all 3 screens.
     
  7. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #7
    Duff-Man says...when I had my Dual 800 Quicksilver I ran 3 monitors for a couple days just to try it out. I had gotten a pci radeon card to replace the rage128 one and as I also happened to have someone's monitor here at the time I just couldn't resist trying it out with all three running. Yes, it works just fine, all plug and play, you should have absolutely no problem with it......oh yeah!
     
  8. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #8
    Wow, we'll definitely need to request pics of your setup. Sounds like a good time. :)
     
  9. sjpetry macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #9
    What kind of work are you doing that you need 3 screens? :cool:
     
  10. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #10
    [​IMG] big porn collection [​IMG]
     
  11. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #11
    I would spring for a 30" Cinema Display. You could fit about 8 DVD player screens at one time without overlap. You actually have to move your head in order to see from corner to corner.
     

Share This Page