3 Terabyte Fusion & Bootcamp

Discussion in 'iMac' started by luminouslight, Feb 1, 2013.

  1. macrumors regular

    luminouslight

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    #1
    Is apple making a fix for the 3 Teraybte not being able to use bootcamp?

    I am getting a replacement for my 27" 1 Terabyte fusion drive due to a faulty hard drive and got a reorder for a replacement yesterday. But now that I think about it 1 Terabyte wasn't enough space for me. So I'm thinking of calling them up and asking them to upgrade to a 3 TB drive but I wanted to know if they will eventually fix the bootcamp issue as I use bootcamp a lot.

    Do you guys think I should go for the 3 TB or get an external hard drive?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    #2
    When you call Apple ask them ;)

    And then come back to inform us, ty!
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    luminouslight

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    #3
    I decided to get a refund on my order since they don't do upgrades on replacements and re-order the 27" iMac with the 3 TB Fusion Drive.

    Means I wont possibly see my new iMac for another month or so :(

    I still want to know if anyone has successfully installed a bootcamp partition on their 3 TB drive fusion or not.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #4
    I thought I read somewhere that the next OS update will fix the 3TB bootcamp issue. Not sure when they plan on releasing?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    luminouslight

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    #5
    Really? Where did you hear that? If so that's awesome.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    #7
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #8
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #9
    Is there an "intelligent guess" as to when 10.8.3 will be released to the public? Three weeks ago I cancelled my iMac order because of the 3TB Fusion/Bootcamp incompatibility. Maybe I need to reorder.

    Thanks
    Paky
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    luminouslight

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    #10
    Soon I hope. Still on the fence if I'm going for the 3 TB fusion or 1 TB.
     

Share This Page