30" cinema display and G5-without PCI express bus-compatibility

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Mack Truck, May 10, 2006.

  1. Mack Truck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    #1
    I have a G5 2x2GHz (purchased 10/03) and I just received my new 30" cinema display along with the GeForce 6600. Problem is my G5 does not have a PCI express bus so I can't use the card :( So I called back Apple and they just can't figure if my G5 is compatible with the 30" cinema display. They told me the card had to be a GeFore 6800 ultra DDL or GL or a Radeon 9650, but can't tell me which one will work with my G5 !
    So anybody had luck with a G5 and a 30" ? Any feedback would be appreciated.
     
  2. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    buy a radeon x800 mac edition. i think igary has one for sale drop him a PM. it has an ADC port and a dual link DVI port.

    you could get a 6800 from ebay but they are expencive hot 2 slot cards.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/nVidia-6800-Ult...ryZ25449QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    otherwise: http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/video/hardware/

    or if your cheap you can get a 9600 that has a dual link port

    or a 9650 http://search.ebay.com/search/search.dll?from=R40&satitle=radeon+9650

    or a 9600 mac+pc edition, but it's a tad slow and expencive.

    to find out what card you have go to the apple menu click about this mac then more info, then under the graphics/displays tab it'll say what graphics card you have, it'll probably be RV350 (radeon 9600) or an r350 (radeon 9800) if the former you wont get a performence hit from getting annother 9600 but with the 9800 you'll get one and i'd get the x800 unless your straped for cash
     
  3. Mack Truck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    #3
    I have a ATI Radeon 9600 Pro. I was told it would not work since the 30" needs dual link DVI...
     
  4. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #4
    I have an x800 xt for sale...See Marketplace.
     
  5. jtalerico macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
  6. Mack Truck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    #6
    Are you sure about the ATI Radeon X800 XT Mac Edition ? It needs a AGP PRO 8x slot and my G5 only have a AGP slot.... Not sure if you can add a AGP PRO 8x card to a AGP slot...
     
  7. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
  8. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #8
    According to the specs you can:

    CPU
    CPU: PowerPC 970
    CPU Speed: 1.6/1.8/2x1.8/2x2.0 GHz
    FPU: integrated

    Video
    Video Card/Chipset: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Ultra (8X AGP)
    VRAM: 64 MB
    Max Resolution: all resolutions supported
    Video Out: DVI, ADC
     
  9. RGunner macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #9
    As others have said...

    Currently there are two retail cards which work with all G5 AGP PowerMacs and support the 30".

    ATI X800XT
    ATI 9650 (not the 9600, do not be confused)

    Good luck!! Hope you bought a 8 Dimm model :)
     
  10. Mack Truck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    #10
    Just to make sure I get it right what is the difference between AGP and 8X AGP ? I just called Apple and they told me the ATI X800XT is not compatible so I am bit lost:eek:
     
  11. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #11
    PowerMac G4's have 2X AGP slots, so they, for example, are not compatable.

    All PM G5's have at least 8X AGP, so the toolbox you are talking to is speaking out of his poop chute. :D

    Put me on the phone with him.
     
  12. RGunner macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
  13. Mack Truck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    #13
    Well Apple sold me a GeForce 6600 while my G5 does not have PCI express...
    Knowing that I do mostly video and motion graphics which one is better ? The ATI X800XT or ATI 9650 ?
     
  14. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #14
    I had the 9650....

    I own the X800 XT.

    The X800 XT hands down. (By the way, the only reason I am selling mine is that I got a replacement machine from Apple and ordered the NVIDIA 7800GT with it. :) )

    Good luck whatever you do, but Apple is wrong.
     
  15. RGunner macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #15
    ATI cards

    GPU processing power list:

    ATI 9650 < ATI 9800 < ATI X800

    The ATI X800 is the most powerful 'retail' card available... the outermost two will drive the 30" as you requested.
     
  16. Mack Truck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    #16
    iGary what is the maxium res you can get with the X800XT ?
     
  17. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #17
    Screen resolution?
     
  18. Mack Truck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
  19. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #19
    Yeah, I'm driving a 30" ACD and a 20-inch ACD (borrowed) at the moment.
     
  20. Mack Truck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    #20
    OK thanks. But what is the difference between AGP and AGP pro 8X ?
     
  21. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #21
    Speed.

    AGP and AGP are the same thing.

    The 8X and "pro" designations you are using denote the speed of that bus.

    There is no such thing as an "AGP" bus - I mean there is, but they all have speed designations, so it would be 2X, 4X or 8x etc...
     
  22. Mack Truck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    #22
    Thanks Gary. So from what I understand, an AGP 8x card like the X800XT is 8 times faster than a regular AGP, and uses the same connection. Right ?
     
  23. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #23
    I wouldn't quote the "8X" as 8 times faster (it could be, I don't know), but yes, same connection AFAIK.
     
  24. Mack Truck thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    #24
    OK thanks Gary, I appreciated your feedback. So you are selling your X800XT ? Unfortunately I don't live in the US :(
     
  25. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #25
    Yeah - I have to send back my old machine to Apple wth the original video card, and don't need this one for the new machine.

    Good luck with your search. :D
     

Share This Page