30" display owners: get your HIGH-res pics of UT 2007 here!

Discussion in 'Games' started by nagromme, Jun 23, 2005.

  1. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #1
  2. _pb_boi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    #2
    Makes me want a 30in display even more!

    andy.
     
  3. Eevee macrumors 6502a

    Eevee

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Haven, CT
    #3
    Cool, thanks for the thread. When is this coming out for Mac?
     
  4. mcarnes macrumors 68000

    mcarnes

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    USA! USA!
    #4
    Are those actual screen shots? What's the actual res of the game supposed to be?

    Man, it looks cool.
     
  5. aspro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    #5
    I have a feeling it aint going to be running on my powerbook :p
     
  6. themacman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Location:
    kc
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    No they aren't. They're simulated screenshots for the Unreal Engine 3.
     
  8. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #8
    I think you'd hurt your neck, trying to game on a 30" monitor. Looking in every single direction at once... :eek:

    Of course, I wouldn't mind having one....:D
     
  9. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #9
    Ah! To run that 30-incher, you also need a PowerMac with Rad9650/X800XT/GF6800!! I woundn't mind having those too :D
     
  10. aussie_geek macrumors 65816

    aussie_geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #10
    UT 2007 please, Oh yeah - could I have a GFX card with that......

    yep - awesome game!! Everyone start saving your cash the GFX card to go with it!! :D


    aussie_geek
     
  11. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #11
    Heh, I'll find a way to use that display, don't you worry...
     
  12. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #12
    It's not PS3, it's Windows presumably--and it's not simulated, it's actual in-engine shots :)

    Except the res is clearly rendered at a bigger size than you'd actually play. (Unless you take AA into account.)

    As for when it's coming to Mac... no date has even been announced for PC! Although late 2006 or 2007 seems likely from the (working) name :) Then some time after that on Mac probably. Nothing's official, but with the editor planned for Mac, that's a good sign that the game is too.

    And yeah, I wish I had a 30" screen too :eek:
     
  13. JackSYi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    #13
    Now only if, UT 2007 would come out to Macs and PCs simultaneously. :eek: :eek: :eek:
     
  14. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #14

    I saw some tests of G70 (the new GeForce) and those cards are only slightly faster than RadX850PE or GF6800. :confused: These cards are on the about the same performance level!
     
  15. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #15
    well technically the newest 15 and 17-inch PB's w/ 128Mb of VRAM will run a 30-inch display, but I don't know what the overall system requirements of the game are going to be. Depending on the release dates (of both the game and the new Macs, it should be one of the first games that is really compiled for both PPC and Intel Macs, so it ought to be interesting to see.
     
  16. _pb_boi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    #16
    I'd be willing to take the risk ;)

    andy.
     
  17. ProjektJ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    #17
    what are you talking about?
    the g70 is faster than two 6800 ultras in sli
    6800ultra x2=1000-1200 dollars
    g70=599
    [​IMG]
     
  18. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #18
  19. ProjektJ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    #19
    directx has never been nvidias strongpoint, look at some opengl games

    also, os x uses open gl exclusively, so directx benches have nothing to do with mac gaming
     
  20. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #20
    Actually several commercial games were ported to Mac within days, before WWDC was even over. Including UT 2004! :) [​IMG]
     
  21. iPlm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Location:
    Sofia
    #21
    Hey, this is only Half Life 2 benchmark results. It's not like you'll get the same difference in Doom 3 or something else. It all depends on the application's design you know. In Doom 3 as I've saw at Anand's Tech review, the 7800 GTX is as fast as 6800 Ultra SLi at everything except 2048x1536 with AA, making some 35 FPS :eek: , this IMO is really nice. :D

    I wonder when will Apple put it in PowerMacs.:p
     
  22. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #22
    Their 3dmark benchmarks were even worse than Half-Life if I remember right.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    3dmark, the SLI setup pwns the 7800 easily.

    UT2k4, the 7800 is hardly faster than the 6800.
     
  23. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #23

    I saw some tests of Doom 3 and UT2004 where new GeForce was about at the same level with other cards, especially in UT2004. The difference was only 1-2 fps
     
  24. liquidtrance123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #24
    these tests are skewed, according to the numbers these benchmarks look CPU limited to me.

    edit: and 3dmark is a worthless way to benchmark cards. the only real way is actual in game demos & benchmarks. You can program drivers and software to make 3dmark spit out whatever number you want. This was the case a few years ago at the [H]
     
  25. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #25
    HL2 is basically CPU bound on anything higher than a 6600 GT.

    Lost Coast will change that, but then, Lost coast will look nearly as good as UT3, if those 3 preview screens are any indication.

    Lower the resolution to something that will fit on a normal-sized screen, and I'm not very impressed. That close-up face shot looks maybe 5-10% better than the main HL2 characters do, poly and texture-wise...

    Add some HDR (which they've done with Lost Coast) and maybe some more texture overlays, and it's the same thing. Not revolutionary.

    Who knows, they have another year of work to do before we'll see the finished product...maybe the textures will get better and they will push more polys...that's not what usually happens, though.

    UT07 will need to be easily playable on current mid-level hardware if they want it to sell at all this time next year. That's the formula...make it play well on last year's mid-level machine, and have some "ultra" settings for the early adopters and to combat obsolescence.
     

Share This Page