30d Raw Format Not Opened By Photoshop

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Sideonecincy, Apr 24, 2006.

  1. Sideonecincy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    #1
    Went out today and shot a whole bunch of photos in Raw format and came home and realized I cant open them in photoshop. This is the first time i ever shot in raw with the 30d and never really shot raw with 20d. Downloaded all of the canon updaters that were suppposed to work for the 5d and 20d but couldnt find anything that got photoshop to open my raw files. Any suggestions?
     
  2. jared_kipe macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    Yeah, the 30D isn't supported by PS yet. But it works in aperture. :p
     
  3. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #4
    bibble

    Use the software Canon inclded with the camera, save as tiff the n let PS read the tiff files. Yes I know it's an extra step.

    Also, there are other raw converson software that are maybe better then PS you should try them. One that gets a lot of talk on the forums is "bibble" See www.bibblelabs.com/ It's free for 30 days

    Bibble supports the 30D and has a mode where bibble can work as a PS plug in. so yes you can get the raw files into PS that way too. Or you can run Bibble in stand alone mode and have it save the files as tiff, PSD or DNG all of which PS can read.
     
  4. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #5
    Don't have a 30D yet, but I wonder if Lightroom would support it?
     
  5. jared_kipe macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    Probably not, lightroom uses Adobe's camera raw plugin too I belive.
     
  6. DinoAdventure macrumors member

    DinoAdventure

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    #7
    Search around Adobe's website for plugins. I couldn't open any of the RAW files from my D-50 until I downloaded the proper plugin.
     

Share This Page