35mmSLR lenses on digital SLR cameras

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by wilso2ks, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #1
    I have lenses from my old Nikon N70 camera. Will these fit on Nikon digital SLR's?
     
  2. macrumors 604

    Digital Skunk

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    In my imagination
    #2
    Yup.

    Some nerds will come here and type long posts about this and that but the simple answer is....

    Yup!
     
  3. macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy part of the Pacific NW
    #3
    Nope, but as fortune would have it they will fit on MY Nikon digital SLR. So go ahead and send them to me.

    You're welcome.





    (I kid, I kid...) :D
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #4
    They will all fit fine. But old lenses that don't have the thing where you put it to the smallest aperture and switch it to the orange dot (camera controlled aperture) wont be able to shoot.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #5
    Uh, no.

    They'll work fine. If you have a D200 or above (d300, d2x, d3) then you can get full metering with old (AI) lenses, but those below will have to rely on entirely manual controls.

    If they're from an N70, there's a chance that they might even be newer AF lenses, in which case they'll work perfectly.

    Ignore the bit about the camera-controlled aperture, he doesn't know what he's on about.

    Skunk, here's your nerd answer.

    Nikon AI, AI'd and AIS lenses will work with all Nikon digital SLRs. You should never attempt to mount a Non-AI lens except on a D40, where they clear the mirror for some reason. Even so, not worth the risk.

    With a D80, like what TimJim has, you can't use any of the scene or priority modes. You will need to use full manual and control the aperture with the ring on the lens. You won't get an aperture reading on your camera's screen. With a prosumer or higher level body, you do see the aperture and though you still stop down using the on-lens ring, it appears correctly in your exif data and the camera makes metering decisions if you want it to.

    My favorite lens on the D300 is the Nikon 55mm f/3.5 AI micro. Sharpest lens I've ever used, at any price.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #6
    I feel dumb. Your right. I popped on a 50mm f/1.4 with the camera controlled aperture but i was in Aperture Priority mode so no reading came up, just tried in Manual and worked. Thanks.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    #7
    I don't think anyone mentioned that, unless your lenses are AF-S, [or the other one, AF-I?] which is unlikely, they won't autofocus on the D40,40x,60. As such it may be advisable to go for a D50, 80, etc.

    Otherwise they will work fine. I assume they're all autofocus lenses, it is possible, as I think the F70 allowed centre-weighted metering with AI, AIs manual lenses that you've got some of those. If so, they won't meter at all with anything except the D200, 300, 700, D1 (centre weighted), D2 series, D3, Fuji S5 pro.

    Whatever you've got, if it fitted on the F70/N70, it will fit on all the digitals. Functionality is constrained by the two points above.
     

Share This Page