384MB RAM Issue

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by TyleRomeo, Feb 6, 2003.

  1. TyleRomeo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    ok is 384MB enought ram to run an iBook 700 comfortably only using iApps?

    The computer is going to get as nuts as burning a CD, listening to music, and browsing the web at the same time. I guess anyone that has 384MB is probably the best person to tell what they think of it.

    Tyler
     
  2. springscansing macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    Yeah, its fine. Even 256 would probably be alright, but 384 is very comfortable. You'll not max it, or even get close.
     
  3. TyleRomeo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    yeah it not for me but for an older lady getting her first mac, she didnt want to spend that much, so i though that 384 will last her.

    Tyler
     
  4. JSRockit macrumors 6502a

    JSRockit

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Sure...it's enough...256 is the minimum...anything more is great for e-mailers and iApp users.
     
  5. JustAGuy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    LotusLand
    #5
    Two words for you: iMovie and iPhoto. Both clobber the 512 I have my G4. Everything else works fine so long as you don't run too many things at the same time.
     
  6. JSRockit macrumors 6502a

    JSRockit

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    I can understand iMovie...but iPhoto?
     
  7. JustAGuy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    LotusLand
    #7
    iPhoto is very manageable with small #s of pics in it. I have about 1100 and man, oh man, does that puppy swap out like crazy when you're viewing the library--not to mention it being slow as dirt (which, when all things are considered, is pretty slow)
     
  8. TyleRomeo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    even with iPhoto 2? i would think they would have worked on that with the upgrade as many people complained about the performance of iPhoto 1 with over a 1,000 pics.
     
  9. JustAGuy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    LotusLand
    #9
    iPhoto 2, if anything, is actually slower in my one-off highly subjective opinion. Of course, this has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that my library has grown by 200 photos since installing it, no, nothing ;)

    In any event, based on the constant crunching of the HD (and spike in pageouts in top) while scrolling the library (well, scrolling, then waiting, then scrolling, then waiting) the #1 thing I can do to improve performance is buy more RAM, already.
     
  10. TyleRomeo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    man that sucks, i have the original 1.25 with 512DDR. Right now i only have a few hundred pics in it. at what point did you notice serious slow scrolling and what machine do you have.

    Tyler
     
  11. JustAGuy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    LotusLand
    #11
    Well, it was slow to start with and just got way worse linearly over time. The iPhoto 1 -> 2 upgrade *really* slowed things down. I had about 1100 pics in the library at that point.

    My machine is a Cube/450 w/ 512 MB of RAM. However, I fully expect all performance issues to immediately disappear upon delivery of my dp 1.25 sometime next week.
     
  12. TyleRomeo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #12
    well my dual 1.25 is handling iPhoto fine for now. eventually i'll mx out the ram, 512 DDR is fine for now. goo dluck with yours

    Tyler
     

Share This Page