3D on the Macintosh

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by digital1, Jan 13, 2003.

1. digital1 macrumors 6502

digital1

This year I will finally have the money to invest in a hobby I would like to get better in. 3D modeling. I do not own a macintosh yet, but I was thinking about getting a dual-processor macintosh sometime this summer/spring to start on some 3d modeling and perhaps do some short animated films. I was thinking that by getting a Macintosh to do my 3d work, I would also be fulfilling a goal of getting some Macintosh in my house. Since I have some experience in a few apps, I was thinking of getting a Mac, Lightwave, and Poser; or perhaps Poser and Maya. I want to become more proficient in either one of those apps. I guess I am wondering has anyone used this combonation the Mac? Are the Power Macs good for modeling. I hear lots of confilicting and mixed information on 3d modeling/rendering on the mac. Does anyone have any experience in these apps? Since my financial situation will probably better by the next MacWorld, I figure this would be a good time to research before I invest heavily;Good and bad experiences are welcome. I want to know the advantages and disadvantages of doing 3d on the Mac. Thanks for the suggestions ahead of time!

2. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

mnkeybsness

poser sucks a lot...it is very limited and keyframing gets complicated when you have multiple things moving at one time...and it's POSER...you aren't actually modeling your own creations...it's like cheating

i would suggest getting maya personal learning edition...because if you buy it, you are stuck with it, and maya is damn expensive and extremely hard to learn

lightwave isn't as hard to model, but it's just as complicated when you want to add color/texture maps (add reality) to your objects or create movies for rendering

3. digital1 thread starter macrumors 6502

digital1