3d programs

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by synthetickittie, Jan 2, 2003.

1. synthetickittie macrumors regular

Dec 17, 2002
    whats 3d programs do people use for thier mac? Right now I only own a windows pc, and I only have ever used 3d max which I realy like, but Im about to switch over to a mac in a month or 2. I cant seem to find 3d max for the mac... am I not looking hard enough or is it realy not made for the mac?
  2. kansaigaijin macrumors 6502

Jan 7, 2002
    the great ether
    there are many 3d design and modeling apps for mac, what did you want to do?

check architosh.com
  3. Frobozz macrumors 65816

Jul 24, 2002
    South Orange, NJ

Hands down, Cinema 4D is the best. http://www.maxon.net

It has a robust feature set, is light years ahead of 3ds max's interface (if you can call it that), and has the fastest renderer in the industry. It's also very reasonably priced with a good modular design.

I work in the 3D industry, and have used a number of programs. I agree with the previous poster for architectural needs, you might want to branch out to CAD/CAM hybrids like Vectorworks. Judging by your statement that you use 3ds max, you should pick up either one of these apps very quickly. Cinema 4D is the 2nd most used 3D application in the world now... behind only 3ds max.

On a last note, make sure you get a dual processor Mac if you're using Cinema 4D. It will use the dual processors like a champ.
  4. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

Aug 9, 2002
    Actually... I would have to say that Maya is the best, its more than a little costy though
  5. synthetickittie thread starter macrumors regular

Dec 17, 2002