3G switch - EDIT: fixed with beta 2

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by GeorgieAcevedo, Jun 12, 2012.

  1. GeorgieAcevedo, Jun 12, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    GeorgieAcevedo

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    I really wish to know what's the deal with apple and not wanting us to have edge. They did it with the 4S firmware now in iOS 6 the iPhone 4 doesn't have a 3G off/on switch! :mad:

    Before I updated my iPhone 4 to iOS 6 I had my 3G off.

    Now updated it's still on edge and I can't turn my 3G back on. If anyone knows how, please let it be known! Thanks!


    [​IMG]
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Have you tried resetting the network settings?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    GeorgieAcevedo

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Location:
    New York City
    #3
    Just did and I'm still on edge! :(
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    kirky29

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, England
    #4
    Strange... have to ask, but have you tried restarting the phone?
    Looks like you're missing a couple of options.....although, I don't have the 3G toggle option anymore! (Not that I ever get it around here...or Edge...)

    Maybe reinstalling iOS 6.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    GeorgieAcevedo

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Location:
    New York City
    #5
    that's exactly what I'm trying to avoid to do lol that's why I posted here for other options :/
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    #6
    I'm havin the exact same issue and I just can't seem to find a way to fix it, I even tried resetting all settings and it didn't work :(
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Downgrade

    I did an update from 5.1 not full restore and I had 3G switched off. I'm wondering if I downgrade to 5.1 and enable 3G, then update to 6 beta will this help. I bit of a headache to restore everything and then if it worked I won't be able to switch off 3G which will drain my battery a lot :)
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    #8
    I'm having the exact same problem

    all i get is cellular data on/off

    my phone wont connect to 3G at all, only edge

    i've tried re-installing IOS6, and ive also downgraded to 5.1 and toggles 3g and updated to 6.0

    no difference

    I know this is a beta, but ive got some friends that have installed the exact same firmware on their phones and have not got this issue

    Anyone had any luck fixing this?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    GeorgieAcevedo

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Location:
    New York City
    #9
    Damn so downgrade doesn't work :/ I thought that would be the only fix I was about to try today.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    #11
    Ive read that this problem occurs when you install ios6 then restore info from a back from ios5


    has anyone tried setting up ios6 as a new phone?
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    GeorgieAcevedo

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Location:
    New York City
    #12
    Well set up as new iPhone should work. But no one here wants to lose their stuff. I rather deal with edge lol.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    #13
    I can't answer your question, but just want to share my experience. So I before I install iOS 6 beta on my iPhone 4, I was using iOS 5.1.1 with my 3G network switch OFF (because in my country the 3G connection kinda sucks ). Then I install teh iOS 6 using restore method and set it up as new Phone. My network then switch automatically to 3G (and also back to Edge if theres none/low 3G signal).

    Yea, I'm looking for 3G switch On/Off too. Because based on my experience, low 3G signal (like 1-2 bar) can decrease my iPhone batt faster than if I switch to 2G/Edge.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    GeorgieAcevedo

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Location:
    New York City
    #14
    Thanks but I'm dealing with edge until beta 2 it's released to see if that brings a fix.
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    RossMc

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #15
    I don't even have the option to turn 3G off in 5.1.1
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Glossop UK
    #16
    Have any of you developers reported this Apple?
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    007bond

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    DFW, Texas
  18. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    GeorgieAcevedo

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Location:
    New York City

Share This Page